Gas floor furnace replacement options

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-04, 10:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas floor furnace replacement options

What I have:
1939 built- 1 story wood frame house with crawlspace.
Located in Long Beach, California.
I have no A/C and use a programmable thermostat for the furnace.
Near as I can tell, the furnace is original equipment.
Single floor furnace vent, right in the center of an 840 sq ft house.
Attic big enough for ducting, if needed.
Walls are recently insulated with R13, attic is about halfway insulated.
Just put in new energy effic windows and have sealed for air leaks.

I am probably over-due for a replacement of this furnace and would like some thoughts on the best options. This is a very small house and I'm not keen on spending huge amounts of money, given that I live in a fairly temperate climate. So far, I see two ways I could go about this - put in a new furnace that is more wall based (the current vent sits in the bottom of a wall - with a hall on one side and the dining room on the other side.) With a fan in the unit to force the heat more out into the rooms. 2nd option would be to run ducting through the attic and cut 6 ceiling registers in.

I am considering doing a small furnace and A/C unit, even though we would only use the A/C for just a few unbearable days in the summer. But it also seems like a waste, so I'm torn......

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-04, 04:15 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have room in the attic just put it all up there. Furnace and ducting. You then also gain a closet in the living space.
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-04, 08:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The furnace is actually under the house, in the crawl space. Which is a bummer because I would kill for more closet space....

The only real problem with putting a unit in the attic is that there is no gas line run up into there. The only way I see to get one is to run it up the side of the house, otherwise I would be opening up the middle wall inside from top to bottom to run the line through it.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-04, 09:29 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Id go for the attic for the furnace there. You can run the line up the outside and paint it. You wont see it. Are fish a flex line up in that wall. You dont have to open the wall up.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-04, 05:03 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
run the gas line up a corner of a closet, or with the lineset to the outdoor unit
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: