Old Gas Furnace Blower Moter Won't Come On

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-04, 05:43 PM
Chromedynasty
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Old Gas Furnace Blower Motor Won't Come On

I have a 17 year-old Olsen gas furnace. The unit lights up fine, however the blower motor does not come on. This is the first time I have tried to fire it up this fall (it was functioning fine last year). I have checked for power at the motor and there is. I am a new homeowner and do not have experience with this type of furnace.

I can't seem to find any postings with this particular problem. Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 

Last edited by Chromedynasty; 10-07-04 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Additional info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-04, 12:08 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try giving the fan motor a little push and see what happens.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-04, 01:22 PM
Chromedynasty
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your response. I've tried rotating the motor, with no results. I've tested for power at the motor and there is. Could it be a defective fan control (the fan control senses heat from the heat exchanger and triggers the fan motor, correct?)? The "manual/auto" button on the fan control doesn't seem to do anything. Is there a way for me to test it? I guess I could wire the motor directly to a plug to make sure it's okay first. If it's working okay is there a way of rigging up the fan control to simulate a call for heat?

Thanks.

Paul.
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-04, 01:42 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

I've tested for power at the motor and there is.
If you have 110 volts there at the fan motor pull it out and get a new one just like it. When you turn that fan control to manual the fan should run for you.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-04, 01:53 PM
Chromedynasty
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Ed.

Two quickies:
1)Should I pull the motor and hook it up directly to power before I trade it in?
2)Is the fan control like a relay? I was thinking that if the motor passes the test could I just jump the relay to start the motor(?). If it starts up, then it'd be the fan control that needs to be replaced, correct?

Thanks.

Paul.
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-04, 04:34 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have line voltage at the motor it's not the relay. Get a new motor and capacitor.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: