nat gas to propane

Old 11-26-04, 09:56 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
nat gas to propane

I have a Wonder-vent heater mounted in the garage to heat the garage up when im out there working in the winter now (Ohio).
I am trying to convert it from Nat gas to Propane.

From what I gather its just a new nipple size that needs to be replaced.

I cannot find the manufacturer website or any info where or how I can do this.

the model number is 9830 and the serial no is 01519.
input BTU 30,000
output BTU 21,000

what do I need to do?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-04, 10:29 AM
Exclamation

Did a search on your brand of heater and as you found there wasn't any information.
Is this a "space" heater?
Ceiling hung heater?
I am not an expert in this field however these are questions that will need to be answered in order for the experts to reply.
The conversion if able to be done will take much more than a nipple replacement. Including possible regulator replacement or reconfiguration,and/or orfice changes.Watch this post for answers from our PROS.
Good luck and post back

Old 11-26-04, 11:38 AM
thank you for your help.

its a ceiling hung unit that hangs from the rafters in the garage. there is a squirrel cage attached to a motor (small, the motor is size of cofee cup) and there is a regulator on it. so far what i have done, is soldered the nipple shut and then drilled outr a hole approx 40% the diameter of initial hole.
it works as is, however it does not work at i believe it should. theres not alot heat and I have yello flame. the flame should be blue.

anything else i can put on here to assist, just let me know.

Old 11-26-04, 12:09 PM
Generally 2 things have to be done when converting.
1. The orrifice needs to be replaced. Propane orrifices are smaller then Nat gas.
2. Either the gas valve or just a portion of it has to be replaced.

Not doing both is dangerous to say the least.

Old 11-26-04, 01:33 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts