Blower motor not kicking off??

Old 12-08-04, 05:01 PM
TireFryerSS
Visiting Guest
Blower motor not kicking off??

Hello everyone!

Just needing some ideas as what it could be.

I have a roof top Borg Warner unit (yes, its really old, lol). I had it serviced, and had alot of parts replaced...and it was working great. But today, the blower motor just started staying on and after a lil while it starts blowing cold air, until the furnace kicks back on and heats the air back up.

I unplugged the unit and took the rear cover off to see what I could find, but unforunately I am not too good at hvac (which is funny because my dad owned his own hvac co. for 25yrs.). I called my furnace man, but he is swamped since the cold weather set in here in Az. He did say he could come by in the next couple of days to "adjust" it.

I guess Im just wondering if someone here could possibly give me an idea of whats wrong, and maybe walk me thru the steps of "adjusting" it.

Thanks!

TireFryer

Old 12-08-04, 05:18 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

Dont know the unit .But it sounds like blower relay stuck on . can try and hit the side of the unit hard with your hand and see if it will stop for you. Check the wire schematic should be on the door there and see if you can find the blower relay. "This will teach you should have worked with your daddy for a time "

ED

Old 12-08-04, 08:17 PM
TireFryerSS
Visiting Guest
Thanks.

I figured it was the relay sticking and I tried hitting the side, and even tapping the relay with a screwdriver, but to no avail.

I didnt see any wiring schematic, but I didnt really look for it either.

"This will teach you should have worked with your daddy for a time "
Yea, I really wish I would have...but when I got old enough (18) to want to get into the business, we had moved out here to Az. and then he was killed in a plane crash...soo I never got the chance to learn too much . Oh well such is life. But man it would have been a great business to be in.