Heater does not always respond to Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-04, 07:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heater does not always respond to Thermostat

The heater (furnace) does not respond to the Thermostat on occasion. The Tstat type is a few years new Honeywell Digital 3200. The Tstat is not programmed, just in a hold temp, auto status. Batteries new. Fuel/Electric switch in F position.

For some reason when troubleshooting, the heater will not respond when the switch is placed in the ON postion, or juggle the temp, or switch on and off, including a punch to the wall or kicking the furnace. Then, out of nowhere, the unit comes on and runs for days without incident.

Could this be a Tstat problem (not sending the signal), furnace maintenance, or atmospheric disturbance (planets not aligned, sun spots)?

Close to calling for maintenance, but checking the forum for expertise and advise... Thanks in advance!

Keith
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-27-04, 07:37 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These are pretty good t-stat.. But things do go bad..

First thing I would do, is when the furnace does not respond, just pop the t-stat off the sub-base, and jumper the r and w to see if the system works. If not, then it's the furnace itself.
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-04, 09:01 AM
coldmechanic
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
most modern digital Tstats have a time delay built in. this prevents the furnace or a/c from short cycling. This delay can be up to 5mins so if it starts within 5mins of turning it on - all is fine. If the heater has been off for hours then it should start right up but if it just turned off, then it will time delay to restart especially if the settings are 'jiggled'.

also, if your heater does tend to short cycle (run for only a couple of minutes several times an hour) the thermostat will only permit so many cycles per hour. Again this is all about protecting your a/c / furnace. The usual is 6cph and can sometimes be adjusted. Sounds to me though that all is normal.
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-04, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

All makes sense, although, it seems that the house got cold from the Furnace not kicking in for a longer than normal period (hours I guess, was asleep and woke up frozen), and as a result, frustration taken out on the Tstat.

thanks again and happy new year!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: