Blower will not shut off

Old 02-14-05, 05:10 PM
kcabpilot
Visiting Guest
Blower will not shut off

This is a Carrier FAU model 58DRC045-CB and my problem is that the blower will not shut off. I've had this problem before and it was a bad limit switch on the vent plate above the burners. I'm not a HVAC guy but I'm an Avionics Tech so I know electrical and circuits. Here's what I've found so far:

I've got 24 vac coming out of the transformer secondary
It then goes through the limit circuit switches and fuse okay and ends up at the 'R' terminal.
From there it goes through the thermostat and comes back to the 'W' terminal

Here's where I get messed up because I'm not sure what's supposed to be coming back from the thermostat. According to the schematic the signal from the 'W' terminal goes to the gas valve, the pilot igniter and then back up to the time delay circuit that should energize the heating fan relay to turn the blower OFF. If I disconnect the gas valve and ignitor and jumper the two pins to the ignitor I get 12 vac at terminal 'W'. Otherwise I get nothing.

Other info: I've replaced the thermostat. The heater works fine, the pilot lights, the burners light and turn off when the temp is reached or if switched off at the thermostat.

But the blower will not shut off.

So, any ideas? I guess the next step is the circuit card but that's probably gonna cost an arm and a leg.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-05, 05:13 PM
M
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Does this furnace have a 3 wire pilot and a 5 wire valve??

Old 02-14-05, 05:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
kcabpilot

Disconnect the stat. Blower shut off? If yes, jump r & w. Does furnace fire up? If yes, allow fan to come on then remove jumper. Does fan shut down in a few minutes? If yes, stat is problem.

Old 02-14-05, 07:48 PM
kcabpilot
Visiting Guest
mbk3, yes, 3 wires to pilot and 5 terminals on the valve.