hydro-air furnace blows cold

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-10-05, 05:32 AM
Slightlynuts
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question hydro-air furnace blows cold

I have two air handlers supplied heat via a zoned oil fired boiler (5 zones- 1 for each Air Handler, 1 for HW and 2 baseboard circuits).

One air handler works fine. The other frequently (and for extended times +/- 10-15 minutes) blows cold air when heat is called for. It does also blow heat and ultimately can bring the room up to temperature in the morning, although this can take an hour or two.

Originally it had a round honeywell thermostat - I adjusted the heat anticipator setting, but it did not help. I have since replaced it with a programmable digital tstat and still have the same problem. I suspect then, that the zone pump is only sporadically circulating heated water even when the tstat is calling for heat. Is this possible? What else could it be?

After installing the new tstat, I also have a new problem, that when the temp in the house exceeds the heat setting such as at night when the setting lowers (t-stat set to heat only, blower to auto) it triggeres my ac compressor unit. I have since shut power off to the compressor units, but wonder if this Air handler could just be wired incorrectly.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-05, 01:22 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

I think you have the wrong tstat for there. Check your wires???? Is the water coil hot? No air in it does it have a pump to it that works right. You have a lot of ifs here . Post back in same post .


ED
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-05, 02:04 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You definitely have some low voltage wiring issues going there. The way I prefer to start the blower is to have the thermostat open the zone valve and have an aquastat on the return pipe at the air handler start the blower when the water temp exceeds 130 degrees. It is simpler than any other combination you can come up with and prevents blowing cold air.

Ken
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-05, 04:16 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Originally Posted by KField
You definitely have some low voltage wiring issues going there. The way I prefer to start the blower is to have the thermostat open the zone valve and have an aquastat on the return pipe at the air handler start the blower when the water temp exceeds 130 degrees. It is simpler than any other combination you can come up with and prevents blowing cold air.

Ken

I agree 100% & do my hydro-air systems the same way. Works well, lasts long
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: