Amana Air Command 80 sse Gas Furnace problem


  #1  
Old 03-19-05, 04:04 PM
SHK
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Amana Air Command 80 sse Gas Furnace problem

Hi there. I'm having some trouble with my Amana furnace i have cleaned the sensor however it fails to blow any kindof air out cold or heat. I checked the indicator light and it flashes three times and per the manual it states that the pressure switch is stuck open. I'm new to home ownership and dont know anyting about furnace. Where would i find the pressure switch and what does it look like? How do i get it to not be stuck? I have checked the flue for any blockage. I just dont see it igniting. All it does is run the fan and nothing comes out. Please help. thanks much.
~Shk
 
  #2  
Old 03-21-05, 07:34 AM
SHK
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Pressure switch problem

Can someone please help? On another website someone suggested that i check the vent for bloackage and i did that. still have the 3 flashes indicating pressure switch problem. suppose to snow tomorrow. Any help would be appreciated.
shk
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-05, 02:55 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,547
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The pressure switch will be inside the furnace and it has a rubber hose connected to it and a couple wires. You can sometimes pull the rubber hose and blow through it both ways and it will start working again. If it don't and you still have the same problem you will want to check it with a multimeter to verify if it's stuck open or not.

Turn the power off before working in this area.
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-09, 07:49 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Manual

In your problem, you seem to have a manual to check on the DSL light. From my search for this manual, you are probably the only person in the known world to own one. Please, if you can not post the manual because of size, etc. send me the diagnostic part on the DSL red light. It has been rubbed completely off my stick on sheet. This much information for troubleshooting will be a big asset.

Thank you

mpe94
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-09, 08:54 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
So what's the model number of your furnace, mpe? You can get that off the rating plate of the furnace, usually found in the burner compartment.

And what kind of problems are you having with your furnace?
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-09, 09:23 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Also---

Starting a new thread is recommended to avoid confusion with earlier problems.
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-09, 02:39 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Amana 80 SSE Gas Furnace repair -Naman

[Hi there. I'm having some trouble with my Amana 80SSE furnace, it fails to blow any kind of air out heat. I checked the indicator light and it flashes three times. I just dont see it igniting or fire. All it does is run the fan and nothing comes out. Please help. thanks much.
 
  #8  
Old 12-23-09, 04:24 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Has the furnace been working up until now recently? Or is this the first time you started it up?

Do you have a voltmeter so we can have you check the wires on the pressure switch? You want to have about 24 volts, AC current when you set the meter to read AC volts - and you put one probe of the meter on one pressure switch terminal and the other one to good metal on the furnace, and see what you get. Then do the same thing by testing between the other terminal and furnace metal. They both should say about 24 volts when the gas exhaust fan motor runs.

I am thinking you are not gettigngvoltage at BOTH terminals, and may only have it on one. This can indicate that something is plugged up in your furnace or vent/chimney. Or the worse thing you could have is a cracked heat exchanger.

Have you tried to turn off the furnace for say about 30 seconds and then turn it back on, to see if you get fire then?
 
  #9  
Old 11-01-10, 02:52 PM
O
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm also having a problem with my 80 sse. The light flashes 4 times and it doesn't say anything in the manual that was left with it.
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-10, 04:39 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does it even make a noise? If not, turn the furnace off for a number of seconds, then turn the furnace back on again, and see if this resetting of it tries to run something. You can observe and listen, with the big furnace cover removed, as long as you leave the smaller blower cover on. Let us know what(if anything) runs and/or glows and lights - and then at what stage it quits.

It seems that with many furnaces, 4 blinks is a high limit issue, but I'm not sure. IF that were the issue, usually what happens is the furnace runs for a while like normal except the burner(s) flame shuts off while there is still a call for heat going on, whether or not the blower (that moves air out the heat registers) comes on or not.
 
  #11  
Old 11-02-10, 12:59 AM
SeattlePioneer's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 5,499
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
My suggestion is to start a new thread describing the problem you are having. It's confusing to have people puggyback on old threads.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: