Furnace burner won't stay lit.

Old 05-04-05, 11:18 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace burner won't stay lit.

First off, I'm new at dealing with furnaces so please mind the non-technical stuffs below.

I have a gas York Furnace that was installed in 1994. It's been working fine for a long time. In late 2003, I had the ignitor replaced as it was cracked. It's been working great since then. But about 2 months back I ran into a new problem.

It doesn't happen all the time. What's going on is that, when my thermostat tells the furnace to turn on, you here the standard click and you hear the furnace start. If you watch the furnace, you see through the vents the bright yellowish/orange light of the ignitor starting up. After a few seconds, you here about 3 clicks and the flame starts. All is normal so far.

But after about 5 seconds, the flame quickly dies. The furnace knows this and trys again. It gets bright, you here the clicks and the flame starts again. Once again, it dies in about 5 seconds.

Sometimes the third attempt will work! The flame will start and stay lit until the house has reached it's desired temperature. Other times, it will die and then the furnace gives up. But the fan will stay on for a couple hours, even if you go back to the thermostat and turn off the furnace (which you know worked as you hear the click.) I have to pull the fuse to shut off the furnace completely.

The good news is that it's an intermittent problem so my house is generally at the temp I want but it's gotten worse lately.

I've been doing research and I think that it's my flame sensor, I think it's dirty as I haven't cleaned my furnace in over 2 years and don't really want to until after summer as I'm having home reno's done. Does the flame sensor sound correct?