Bryant Gas Furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-05, 05:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bryant Gas Furnace

Hi Everyone,

I need help on a Bryant Gas Furnace(not sure of the model #)this one is older with a hot surface igniter.I can get the fan to come on but nothing else.I replaced the igniter and the thermostat.Not sure what else to do.Thank You!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-05, 06:57 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the flame is not turning on after the ignitor glows, it could be not getting gas.

Is the gas valve turned on? do you hear it click after the ignitor gets hot?? Check to see if you have power going to it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-05, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not getting the igniter to get hot.I am correct in assuming that the igniter has to get hot for the gas valve to kick on,right??Could it be the control board??Not really sure!Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-05, 12:21 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the ignitor has to glow before the gas turns on.. Maybe the pressure switch is keeping from turning on.. Flue vent maybe blocked? Take a reading to see if you are getting power to the ignitor control
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-05, 04:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I'm not getting any power to the igniter than what could the problem be??
Thanks!!!
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-05, 07:56 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you not getting 24 volts or 120 volts to the ignitor modulor?

If no 24 volts, then trace back on pressure switch.. limit switch.. safety switch..

if one of those switches are tripped, then you need to find out why it tripped.. DO NOT bypass any of these safety switches.

Do you have a small inducer fan on the system?? That has to be running first before the ignitor come son?

If no 120, may want to check the power going to it.. wire ok? Wire come undone somewhere?
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-05, 11:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Checked,not getting power to the igniter.All wires seem to be ok.Could it be the control board???
 
  #8  
Old 10-17-05, 12:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the power going to the modular from the safety switches?? (Switches all closed?)
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-05, 05:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,561
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you leave your meter in the HSI connection when t'stat calling for heat for at least 1 minute. Takes time to get to that stage. Also do you hear an audible sound from gas valve after t'stat has been on for 1 minute or so?
 
  #10  
Old 10-24-05, 04:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turns out it was the circuit board after all.Thanks to all for the help!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: