Water inside furnace! Please help.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-05, 10:48 AM
Chupathingy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Water inside furnace! Please help.

Hey guys,

Let me start off by saying that I will not pretend that I know thing one about anything. hehehe

I have noticed that I am getting some water in the tray of my furnace.

I took some pictures to help me explain.

http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_01.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_02.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_03.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_04.jpg

We just bought this house in July (my first house ever) and I am terrified that something serious is wrong.

I will answer any questions that I can (with pictures if asked).

Please someone help.
 

Last edited by Chupathingy; 11-05-05 at 11:09 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-05-05, 11:10 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chupathingy, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
I am not an expert in this field but it doesn't seem to be "excessive" moisture. It may just be the humidity surfacing from using the funace the first few times. You didn't say where you are located.
Watch this post for the expert opinions and thanks for the pics. They really help for questions like yours. Good luck.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-05, 11:52 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What brand is this furnace??


Check the hose that maybe hooked up to the blower housing (Black thing) has not come undone or rotted away..

Is the black blower housing plastic or metal?
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-05, 12:37 PM
Chupathingy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by majakdragon
Chupathingy, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
I am not an expert in this field but it doesn't seem to be "excessive" moisture. It may just be the humidity surfacing from using the funace the first few times. You didn't say where you are located.
Watch this post for the expert opinions and thanks for the pics. They really help for questions like yours. Good luck.

Thanks for the reply, I fixed my location.
 
  #5  
Old 11-05-05, 12:44 PM
Chupathingy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Jay11J
What brand is this furnace??
HEIL DC-90

Originally Posted by Jay11J
Check the hose that maybe hooked up to the blower housing (Black thing) has not come undone or rotted away..
I have more pics...

http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_05.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_06.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_07.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_08.jpg
http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_09.jpg

While the hose is admittedly yellowed it is clear and the water inside does run to a drain in the floor, it seems my problem seems to be before that because the water is in the tray above. (see there I go acting like I know what I'm talking about, sorry)

Originally Posted by Jay11J
Is the black blower housing plastic or metal?
Everything seen in jpg 1 in my first post is metal, everything seen in the second post is plastic. See how I dodged the "black blower housing" knowledge. hehe

thanks for the quick replies.
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-05, 06:38 AM
tinner73's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: chicagoland
Posts: 268
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
does it have air conditioning? is it above the furnace? i know you are not using the a/c now, but it looks like a leaking a/c coil from here. does it get wet when you run the heat?
 
  #7  
Old 11-06-05, 11:39 AM
Chupathingy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by tinner73
does it have air conditioning? is it above the furnace? i know you are not using the a/c now, but it looks like a leaking a/c coil from here. does it get wet when you run the heat?
We do have air conditioning yes. The unit itself is out side.

The water does seem to only occur when the heat is turned on.

Also I actually saw it dripping today and it the drips are coming from here...

http://mudkicker.dyndns.org/images/furnace_10.jpg

Oh and the reason I am pretty worried is that it seems the previous owners just had to have the motor replaced this tim last year. Should I just bite the bullet and call someone?
 
  #8  
Old 11-06-05, 07:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looks like it's leaking between the two clam shell on the inducer motor.. I have not come across anything like that.. I would say you'll have to get a new inducer housing.


Unless the other guys has a suggstion.
 
  #9  
Old 11-07-05, 12:04 PM
bjj
bjj is offline
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like something that may have happend to us. Our vent pipe (high efficiency) was connected to something I will call a trap on the bottom. Condensate and I guess rain water that makes it way down collects in the trap and then flows out to the vent line. I wish I had a picture because I know I am not using the correct terms. The "trap" had become filled with debris. We have a lot of trees. Water was backing up and dripping out of the fan housing and dripping on the burner assembly. I took the trap off and cleaned a bunch of junk out of there and made sure all the lines were clean. No more leaks. I clean it out yearly now and have not had any problems since.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: