Kenmore Burner will not light...I'm Cold!

Old 11-11-05, 09:30 AM
hdrichie
Visiting Guest
Kenmore Burner will not light...I'm Cold!

Hi,
First post....Need a little help
I tried searching the boards to find an answer but came up empty.

The Burner on my 5yr old Kenmore furnace NTC6075FBA1 will not light.
I'm no professional but ill try to explain what happens.
I turn the thermostat on calling for heat...I see the heating element turn bright red and Pilot lights...few seconds later blower starts.The burner never ignites...just blows cold air.
This started happening last season and I would just turn the furnace off and back on and 9 times out of 10 the burner would light.....Now I cant get the burner to ignite at all.
So here are my questions: Is there anything I can do myself before calling a Technician? also, What should I expect to hear and/or pay if I do need to call a Tech?

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 11-11-05, 03:35 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You around?

What puzzles me is why the blower comes on. This should be activated by heat. There is one other thing that can activate these to come on when they normally don't and that is if it is stuck on high limit. But normally when it sticks on high limit, the blower just keeps running and won't shut off.

But who knows how they wired that Kenmore.

I would first check to see if yu have a disc that has two wires going to it. The disc is about the size of a dime. In the middle of a lot of these discs is a little red? colored pin that sticks out. By pushing down on that pin..if you hear it click, that means you have just reset the stuck high limit switch. These are located on the upper part of the heat exchanger area in the same compartment where the burner and ignitor controls are, inside the main panel of your furnace. If there is no discernable click sound, then it means that that was not the problem.