no flame


  #1  
Old 01-22-06, 09:47 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy no flame

I found my rural house cold after being away for a few days and its the weekend. Inspection of my 16 month old system (Goodman GMNT060-3B unit) showed that the ac portion worked fine. When switching to heat, i get the air start up in the chambers but had no glow of the electronic pilot. So I replaced the B1401018S ignition (only one way to connect) and that corrected the problem to that point in the cycle. So after replacing the part it will start air to the chambers, light the pilot strip but no gas is released to light. The status light blinks continuously after cycling 3 times in attempt to start. Check of the gas is present going into the unit but not reaching where it needs to go. I have to fix this asap, we're cold and no help is available. What can i do to try to fix this. Your help is very appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 01-22-06, 11:23 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 657
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You said the status light is flashing continuously. It should be flashing a code. The code will correspond to a specific problem.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-06, 11:25 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
No Flame

Make sure the gas valve is set to "on" & all wires are connected to the gas valve & ignition control.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-06, 11:42 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
rapid continuous blinking

noted inside the unit cabinet indicates incorrect twinning incorrect primary polarity, states to reverse transformer secondary leads, reverse primary wires respectively. the gas is on, i disconnected it just past the valve outside of the unit and theres gas there. all switches are on. all connections are secure. as the part i replaced can only be plugged in one way, now what?
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-06, 11:56 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Reversed polarity?

If all you did was to replace the ignitor, you could not have reversed the polarity. Did you take out any kind of bracket while replacing the ignitor? If you did, take it out again & clean where it mounts & the mounting surface of the bracket. Make absolutely sure the ground wire has a good connection on both ends.
If all of this fails to help, I think you have a bad board.
 
  #6  
Old 01-22-06, 12:22 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ignition

the replacement ignition had a different style as they don't make the old style. a different bracket has been used, i have taken it out and cleaned and replaced the new ignition, but nothing different happens. it will be at least 3 days before i can get back to the city to pick up parts, what does a 'board' usually cost?, will i be able to change it myself?
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-06, 03:43 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Can you find the part number on your board?

What test equipment do you have available (voltmeter, test lamp)?

It sounds like maybe something happened while you were gone.
Perhaps something else happened that burnt the hot surface ignitor.
The board might have not be able to detect that it the HSI got hot and left it on for days.
Or perhaps there is a bad connection and the gas valve doesn't respond.
The reversed polarity error is a strange one and surely means something else is wrong since you didn't change your wiring. Re-check the code. The board sounds like it is mostly working.


That said, boards can be ordered on the Internet.
 
  #8  
Old 01-22-06, 05:43 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
info

White Rodgers 50T35-730 24VAC 60Hz 0.5 A max. Running status 6 times still produces continuous blinking.
 
  #9  
Old 01-22-06, 06:01 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Control

That control board has been replaced by a 50T35-743.
Before spending the money on a board, you should verify you are getting 24 volts to the gas valve. If you are getting power to the valve & it is not opening, the problem is likely the valve.
 

Last edited by Grady; 01-22-06 at 06:04 PM. Reason: More information
  #10  
Old 01-22-06, 06:37 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,725
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by frozenmom
Running status 6 times still produces continuous blinking.
I meant to doublecheck the code itself to be sure you decoded it correctly.

You didn't say whether you have any simple test equipment available.

Boards are not returnable if it turns out the the problem was something else.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: