York heater doesn't stay on.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-28-06, 12:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York heater doesn't stay on.

I have 4 yr old York system (Model G8C07512MU811A).
Last night, it was constantly turning on and off without blowing any warm air.
When I walked up the attic and found out the following sequences.
1) pre-blow for 30 sec.
2) ceramic ignite plate grows in orange.
3) burner fires up for 10-20 sec and shuts off (while air being circulated)
4) Fan stays on for another 2-3 mins and shut itself off.

a) redo step 1-4 again in 5 mins and shut itself off.
b) pause for a while and redo the steps above.

I thought there's a bird nest in my exhaust chimney so I disconnected the duct (let the exhaust out freely) and manually turned on the system. 30 secs of smorky start, the system was stayed on nicely. After a while I reconnect the duct, the system turned on 7 mins and off 3 mins and kept my house at 70 degree last night.

Wehn I got back from work (it was set at 58 while none's home), it is doing the same meaningless cycle. This time and check "York's web" and found out 6 blinking LED is error sign for
"Pressure Switch cycle lockout".

What do I do fix this problem? Do I have to call service person?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-28-06, 03:33 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are saying that if you disonect the flue pipe, it ran fine?

Then i'd get up on the roof and check the chimeny cap to make make sure it's not blocked.
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-06, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Jay11J.
But after running furnace for 5 mins, I can reconnect the duct to the chimney and it still works fine.
It appears that the problem begins when the furnace tries to start after a long (can't tell how much though) idling.

BTW, can anyone tell me what the error code "Pressure Switch Cycle lockout" means?
 
  #4  
Old 02-28-06, 05:03 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It means that the switch has not closed or open, and shuts down to advoid any back draft. So another word, it's not getting vented out.

Is the chimmney cap above the roof line or is it down in a "Valley"?
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-06, 05:09 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pressure Switch Lockout

Normally, this means there is some kind of problem with air moving thru the combustion zone of the furnace. The smoke concerns me. I presume this was black smoke & not white (possibly steam?). If you can provide a link to York's web site it would be appreciated & maybe I can glean something from there which I can use to help you.
 
  #6  
Old 02-28-06, 06:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York G8C Installation Instruction

Thanks, Grady.
The link is "http://johnsonsupply.com/york2001/PUB/035-15241-003A.pdf".
Check pg.18. 6 flashes = 1 hr pressure switch lockout.

If my vent is blocked, why does it work after I reconnect the full vent assembly after 5 mins of warm up (my vent is made out of B-1 metal pipe).

I checked my vent from outside (which has cap with hole-punched sidewall) and looked clean from obstruction. Also checked inside and looked clean.

I see rubber tubing between the vent blower and pressure switch. Is it worth replacing it?
Is it possible my vent blower is lossing it's power so that it doesn't vent all the way thru the vent?
Is it possible the "pressure switch" (it appears like EGR value in the car exhaust system) is bad?

I saw many postings on the web with similar problems but can't find clear answer.
Many thanks in advance!
 
  #7  
Old 02-28-06, 06:32 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
SideWall Vent System

I presume there is some sort of power venter installed. Some have some kind of adjustment for the amount of air they move. You might try opening the restrictor more to provide more draft. Another problem with sidewall vent systems is if they don't run long enough after the burners shut down it can cause residual heat in the furnace & all sorts of problems.
Pull off that rubber hose you spoke of & pinch off one end while blowing hard on the other end this is a way to check for cracks you might not see. You can take a paper clip & it should go easily into the pressure switch & whatever else the tube connects to. Be careful with the pressure switch. You should not try to push the paper clip past the length of the tube connector.
Please give me more details about the smoke.
 
  #8  
Old 02-28-06, 07:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's white but not too dense. It comes out only first 3-5 secs and clears out.
Just like when your car starts at the 2nd try during winter.
I bet it's because furnace was turned on and off several times before they are shut-off for an hour (according to installation guide), there must be some condensation.

I'll try blow tactic to check blockage or crack in the hose. Also check blockage at the pressure switch.

I think York's default setting of additional air circulation is 3 mins after the burner is shut off.
I can reduce it to 60, 90, 120 or 150 sec but didn't touch that.

I am not so sure about how to change the daft amount. I can use more detailed help on that.
 
  #9  
Old 02-28-06, 07:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The inducer blower does not have a setting...
 
  #10  
Old 03-02-06, 04:55 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What are your results so far?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: