Need to install a oil tank in house to.....

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-06, 06:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 75
Question Need to install a oil tank in house to.....

Hello All,
I need to install an oil tank in my house to replace my inground tank.
My plan was to install the new tank in my basement,fill it and when the inground tank is empty then I could switch over to the new tank.
My first question is about the tank fill pipe and vent pipe.
Can someone explain the proper way to do this.
Thanks in advance.
-quadcells
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-06, 07:33 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

You just pipe the fill and vent to the outside. I always like the put a vent alarm .In the vent pipe at the tank. I would check for code first where you live. Are ask the oil company what they would like best.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-06, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 75
Thumbs up

Thanks Ed, yea I was looking at a diagram and it does look simple for me. I will call my oil supplier.
Thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-06, 11:07 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

Get the shut off valve that goes on the bottom of the tank and the filter can screw right on it.
We also tilt the tank just a little to the drain valve. This way it gets all the junk and water out of it and in the filter. Helps to keep the tank bottom clean and from a rust hole leak from the inside.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-06, 11:32 AM
Michael's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
oil tank

Go for a 330gal tank H&W are the same as a 275 it's just a little longer. More fuel on hand for the winter. It's good to have the extra capacity for COD purchases. I recently installed 2 tanks in my basement. Also don't forget to run the 3/8 line in seal tite from the tank to the burner. Fill and vent should be 2 inch. Have fun!!
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-06, 05:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,926
New Tank in Basement

As said, the fill & vent should both be 2". A vent-alarm is mandatory in many locations & a good idea anywhere. EVERY tank I install gets one regardless of where the tank is. Many companies will not deliver to a tank without a whistle.
At work we have made it policy to install a tank tray & leak alarm with every basement tank. The tank sits in the tray (25 gallon capacity) & the alarm straps to a tank leg & will sound an 85 db alarm for up to 3 days in case of a leak. Other than the remote read types, I do not recommend tank gauges. I've seen too many leak.
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-06, 12:42 PM
beaureguard's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Maine
Posts: 51
You should also make sure the tank is up to code before you purchase it. My local Home Depot tanks are not up to code. Code says it needs to be 12 gauge, and they have 14 gauge. But they put it in thousands(.000) of an inch not "12 gauge". So you will have to know how to convert from one to the other.
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-06, 01:02 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,926
Tank thickness

I didn't know anybody still made a 14 ga tank. But since they do & they are available, here are the numbers for gauge/steel thickness: 14ga. is .0781" (5/64") and 12ga. is .1093" (7/64") according to the chart in Highland Tank Co.'s booklet. More information is available on their web site: http://www.highlandtank.com
 
  #9  
Old 11-22-08, 01:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 76
I have been googling for hours and simply can not find the answer to this question.

I want to install a normal 275gal heating oil tank. DO I NEED permission from anyone to do this? (above ground outside)

Do I need any sort of permission or permits or inspections etc.. I am not replacing anything (no underground tank or anything) just installing a new above ground tank.

This would be in NJ

Thanks!

Crap just realized this thread may be over 2 years old :-( is it 2008 year june 20 last post or is it august 20 2006 last post? :-)
 
  #10  
Old 11-22-08, 05:02 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,926
Old thread

You got lucky the system reminded me I had a reply to a post.
To answer your question, I would suspect you would need some kind of permit but I'm not sure. I suggest you check with the local code enforcement people.
 
  #11  
Old 11-22-08, 05:27 AM
plumbingods's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manch-vegas, New Hampshire
Posts: 2,182
I am quite sure a permit and inspection is required when the installation of any fuel tank is installed, and if you do not follow this practice, if anything were to happen to your house, including a flood, your homeowners insurance company will not help you one bit and if it was a fuel spill, it can get quite expensive to clean up.

Your local building department may or may not be responsible for this. Sometimes it is the fire dept's job.
 
  #12  
Old 11-22-08, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 75
Hi, Thanks for the reply.
Well I had the boiler man who installed my new boiler come over and help mw do it correctly. Then when I called the oil company they sent a man over to inspect the installation. All done and it is great.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes