Manually turn on gas fireplace?


  #1  
Old 11-20-06, 11:45 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Manually turn on gas fireplace?

I have a Heat-n-Glo natural gas fireplace insert. We have a lot of electrical power outages in this area. I was wondering if there is any way to manually turn on the gas on those inserts without using electricity. It has a low voltage electric gas valve on the burner. The fan wouldn't work, of course, but maybe the gas burner would warm it up some. Without electricity we have no heat in the house.

Or do I need a generator?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-06, 12:00 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not knowing what model you got, some fireplace don't use any power, the power on most them are used for the blower, and remotes control.

I know on my parents it can run with out power, they just don't have the blower part.. The heat works it's way into the home.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-06, 12:41 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The model we have is AT-Supreme by Heat-n-Glo. Don't know if that helps.

Thanks Jay.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-06, 12:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok, I looked at the manual, it says that 120volt is not required, so that means it can run when the power is out.. You just won't have the fan running (If you got one?)
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-06, 01:10 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

Check and see if that unit you have there is set up . That it has a millivolt system if so . When you light the pilot light it will make the electric that will turn the gas valve on for you. Like said not the blower .
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-06, 01:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That model is a Millivolt system.
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-06, 02:33 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
fire in the hole

Thanks for the help Jay, Ed. Looked all around and found a hidden switch on the side of the unit. Turned it on and it fired up after a minute. No electricity-No problem. Works just fine without it.

Thanks again.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-06, 03:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Glad to hear that you found the switch, and knowing you will have heat if the power goes out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: