Bryant Furnace Model 563G does not turn on


  #1  
Old 12-30-06, 06:39 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bryant Furnace Model 563G does not turn on

My furnace is only one year old. It was working fine, but now it just doesn't turn on. No noise, nothing.

The power switch to the furnace is on...I see the LED lit up.
The door is shut firmly. Besides, I see no switch that the door presses on.

The only thing I see is that my thermostat says to change:
the filter
the UV Lamp (whatever that is)
and the humidifier pad (whatever that is). I don't even have a humidifier.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Dan
 
  #2  
Old 12-30-06, 07:18 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is the LED flashing a code? On blower door there maybe a chart showing what the flashing means.

Sounds like your t-stat may need to set up to turn off the UV and Pad change.. What the make/model of the t-stat?

You changed the air filter?
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-06, 08:04 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No the LED is not flashing a code. The LED is a single little red light. On the board by the LED it says, "Status Code LED". Then also near, it is written, "EAC-2".

No I haven't changed my filter. It's been a year so I figure it just automatically goes on. We rarely run it all day and hardly ever run it at night.

I think I can read the book to turn off the "change filter, UV Lamp (whatever that is) and humidifier pad"; however, doing that won't turn my furnace on, will it?

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-06, 08:12 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
IS there a reset button on your tstat?
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-06, 04:19 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a touch pad thermostat. I noticed the "reset" option on there last night. I touched it, then "change filter, etc." stuff went away. The furnace still did not work.

I just woke up this morning, turned the heater on via the thermostat and lo and behold, it works now. Don't know what happened, but it works.

Do you know what a UV lamp is and where it is located so I can change it?
What is it for? I suppose the humidifier pad is something that I don't have to worry about since I don't have a humidifier.

Thanks for all your help!
Dan
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-06, 05:22 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I take it you have a Honeywell VisionPro t-stat? TH8320?

http://www.hotfreshcool.com/visionpro_features.html

UV light us either on the return duct or above the A-Coil. It used to kill germs and what not in the air, and if it's above the coil, it used to kill mold.

http://www.accutempair.com/images/ultralight.jpg

(copy and past links above)

Yikes a year? If that been that long, the filter may of been dirty, and cause the furnace to lock out on high limit.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-06, 06:16 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,315
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you have not changed your filter in a year it should be looked at for sure. Most common air filters 1" - 2" need changed every 30 - 90 days the larger media filters in the 4" - 6" range can go about 9 months.
 
  #8  
Old 12-31-06, 07:16 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah, my thermostat looks like that, but it's the TH8110U Honeywell.

My filter is about 5" deep, pleated, and according to the manufacturer, because of it's design, it goes a year.

Thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-06, 04:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you have central air? If so, then change the filter twice a year, otherwise, once a year is fine, unless you have pets, and lot of foot traffic.

http://www.hotfreshcool.com/Product/Visionpro/VisionPRO%208000%20Installation%20Manual%20(68-0280).pdf

If you don't have the manual, above link will be one.

Page 15 is set up mode.

Then go to set up 510 and 520 and set to 0 if you don't have the UV and humidifer.

Is the furnace 90 or 80%?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: