Goodman Furnace burner problem


  #1  
Old 01-13-07, 07:09 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ponca City Oklahoma
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goodman Furnace burner problem

I have a Goodman gas furnace. Everything starts just fine. Once the main burners ignite, the flame on one burner will go out, then another will get real small and go out finally the burner with the flame detector goes out then it shuts down.

It appears that there is not enough gas to keep the burners burning, but when it first lights there seems to be plenty of presure.

What do I need to look for??
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-07, 03:01 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Goodman

It sounds like you have a gas problem. I could be gas valve but more likely a problem with the regulator. Without a manometer to check gas pressure, you are going to have to call someone to check it. Do you have natural or LP gas?
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-07, 04:04 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

Im with Grady if you have LP check and see if snow or ice has blocked out the vent hole on the regulator out side at the tank or the home
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-07, 07:43 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ponca City Oklahoma
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Goodman Furnace Problem

The furnace is natural gas. I recently had to change out the gas valve. I read another post that indicated maybe the burner jets were misaligned or something like that, so I adjusted the burners and it changed things enough that all of the burners ignite and stay lit, however, the air seems cool when it comes out of the registers and the temperature in the house is not going up very fast at all.

I have a 3/8" flexible stainless steel supply line going to the furnace, could this be a problem?

Electrical work is much easier than heat and air. This is driving me nuts.
 

Last edited by Electrician; 01-13-07 at 08:02 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-13-07, 09:08 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Gas Problem

After working on the air adjustment you need to get a pro in there ASAP. You could be producing huge amounts of CO.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-07, 10:27 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,076
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Also.............. A 3/8" flex is too small. That size is only good for something like 20 to 40 thousand btu's (depending on length). OK for a water heater if length is short.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: