Want to turn fan on furnace


  #1  
Old 01-14-07, 08:20 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Want to turn fan on furnace

I have an oil fired furnace and sometimes use my woodstove to supplement heat. The question I have is can I make the fan in my furnace come on so I can use the return air in my basement room with the woodstove to circulate the heat better?

I only have 2 wires going to my T-stat. But it is a programmable one. So do I run an extra control wire to the furnace and wire it up?

Or is there another way?

Thanks
-Bryan
 
  #2  
Old 02-14-07, 10:12 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Come on guys, cant be that hard?
 
  #3  
Old 02-14-07, 11:26 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Push the white button in on the fan control to manual, fan will run all the time. Pull out to go back to auto. Of course you need the fan control that has the button.
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-07, 11:47 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think you need the 3rd wire. I just did this with my oil furnace. I already had the 3rd wire but it was disconnected at both ends with a splice in the middle not connected either. I fixed the splice and then connected the "green" wire to the G terminal on my electronic thermostat and the other end to the G terminal of the furnace board. Now regardless of heat or cool setting I can switch my fan switch from "auto" to "fan on" and it will run the fan to circulate air. You might want to check that you might already have the 3rd wire included with your current wire. Most thermostat wires have 3 or 4 wires in them. Maybe someone just snipped them at each end.
 
  #5  
Old 02-14-07, 12:21 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

You dont say what fan control you have on that oil furnace
If you do have aboard then yes just run a wire to the tstat to G and on G in the furnace . If you have a blower control in the furnace. Then get a blower relay and jump the fan control there in the furnace with it. On the 24V side get a common from in the furnace and tie the other side to the G from the tstat
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: