Blower cuts off, causing lock-out mode

Reply

  #41  
Old 11-24-07, 07:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
I set them on 100 and 130 about 200, they where a little off, set them exact but still same results of cutting off and on
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 11-24-07, 08:02 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Settings

I hope you held the dial so it could not move when you changed the settings. Failure to do so could result in a damaged control.

Let's now test the system: Turn the thermostat up to about 10 above room temp or just hook the two wires together as before. While the furnace is burning, watch the dial on the fan/limit & post back with results.
 
  #43  
Old 11-24-07, 08:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
no results the same. still same
 
  #44  
Old 11-24-07, 08:24 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Dial

Did you watch the dial? What did it do? How long between fan on & fan off? Burners stay on the whole time?
 
  #45  
Old 11-24-07, 08:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
maybe 45,60 sec and yes they did the burners stayed on
 
  #46  
Old 11-24-07, 08:41 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Return air system

Is the furnace pulling unusually cold air from somewhere such as an attic or crawl space? Are you sure the return duct system is intact? Did the dial on the control turn? If it did, did the fan come on when the middle pin tripped & cut off when the lowest pin tripped?
 

Last edited by Grady; 11-24-07 at 08:43 PM. Reason: More questions
  #47  
Old 11-24-07, 08:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
the air filter is built in the wall right next to the furnace no filter on furnace.
 
  #48  
Old 11-24-07, 08:59 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Air temperature

If you have a thermometer, place or hang it in front of the filter & let me know what it reads. Is there a duct connecting the filter to the furnace?

As a test only: Block off about 1/3 to 1/2 the surface of the filter. Please watch the dial & tell me what it is doing in relation to the fan coming on & going off.
 
  #49  
Old 11-24-07, 09:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
I don't have a thermometer. i covered the filter half way the dial turns (clicks) on as soon as that it clicks, turn off and yes it has a duct to the filter .
 
  #50  
Old 11-24-07, 09:32 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Filter blocked

Is the fan staying on longer with the filter restricted? If not, I'm wondering if maybe some cold air is being pulled down thru the wall. Another possibility is low gas flow for some reason. Do the flames look normal or do they look lazy?
 
  #51  
Old 11-24-07, 09:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
no,,Flames look good.
 
  #52  
Old 11-25-07, 11:36 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
In order to be of any help beyond what we've already covered, you are going to have to measure temperatures of the return air & supply air as close to the furnace as possible. It would also help to "clock" the gas meter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes