Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit......

Old 01-17-07, 12:49 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit......

Hi...I've read through a few msgs concerning this same problem where the pilot lights but goes out as soon as the control knob is released. I purchased a mobile home with an Empire comfort system ventless wall propane heater. There was no manual with this thing and since it was a private sale I have no way of getting the previous owner to come help.
This heater has worked fine the last two years but now I am having this problem with the pilot light. I went and looked at troubleshooting on Empire's site, but the problem is that I am a newbie at trying this DIY stuff on a heater (I am a single mom on an extremely tight budget and if it is at all possible I'd like to try to resolve this issue myself or at the very least figure out what indeed the problem is). The site recommends cleaning the pilot (is there somewhere I can go look that will explain how to do this?)..or talks about the thermocouple being loose at the control valve, or not touching the flame, or being no good. I don't want to aggravate anybody by requesting a sort of walk through on this stuff (which is what I need! lol)..so if it isn't possible to explain it all to me I totally get it. Is there anywhere I can go look to give me maybe a detailed explanation on checking this stuff out, or do am I just gonna have to deal with no heat until I save up enough to call somebody out here to look at it?
Thanks for your time!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-17-07, 01:03 PM
considering your furnace is propane and ventless it has a potential to be a serious safety hazard if not properly repaired. i would spend the money to have a qualified person come to look at it, once there he can show you hands on how to relight the pilot and such much better than we can tell you. also be sure that you purchase a CO detector with a digital readout if you dont already

Old 01-27-07, 11:54 AM