Proper wiring inside a furnace?

Old 02-03-07, 01:41 AM
P
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Proper wiring inside a furnace?

My parents moved into an old house (circa 1915ish) this past summer, and I have had some concerns about the HVAC system since the beginning. My first concern (and the only one in THIS post) is that the blower control is a light switch (hearafter refered to as THE light switch) mounted on the side of the furnace. The blower is either on or off regardless of whether the burner is firing! When they ran out of heating oil the first time (they are used to gas) they found that space heaters actually keep the house fairly comfortable IF you turn the blower off. It seems that letting the air sit around and stay warm would be more efficient than having it circulate all the time. I'm not an expert, but I understand the concepts fairly well, so I opened up the front panel on their oil furnace to see what I could do.

Here is how it was set up:
(I hope you don't mind a long post. I'm going to try to be as descriptive as possible. Also, I'm doing this from memory so bear with me.)

First, I'm not sure what brand the furnace is or anything, the model number is LUF80C112/125D20-1A.

The thermostat is an ancient looking two conductor type with an alchohol thermometer in the front.

Inside the furnace we have a fan-&-limit switch, a transformer (I finaly came to the conclusion that the secondary is just the terminals marked R and C(?) and the other three are just joining points for other lines from the thermostat), a DPST relay with one NC and one NO pole and of course, the burner assembly.

The two lines from the thermostat are directly connected to two terminals on the burner assembly, when they short the burner comes on.