flue insulation


  #1  
Old 03-08-07, 10:06 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
flue insulation

I recently bought a newly constructed @1 yr old home. The inspector told me that the flue run from the 80% gas furnace in the attic is not code. The horizontal run is @15ft and the veritical run is @8ft. He suggested I insulate the metal flue pipe. He said it would help the economy of my furnace. Is this true? I would have thought it would just keep the condensation to a minimal. I have not seen any threads about insulating a furnace flue, why would I need to do this? What are your thoughts?
thanks,
Hoggman
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-07, 05:17 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NEVER put insulation on a flue pipe!

I'd call the office and talk to a supervisor for the safety of others!

I know some area you must use B-Vent from the furnace all the way to the roof, where some area just use single wall then into a B-Vent up the roof.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-07, 05:36 PM
DaVeBoy's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,565
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is something to read:

http://www.neo.ne.gov/neq_online/sept2004/sept2004.wiz.htm
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-07, 05:48 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Insulated flue pipe

I'd bet the code says "insulated pipe". B-Vent is considered insulated. But Hector the Inspector hasn't a clue other than what "code" says.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-07, 07:48 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Then it is a condensation issue. Still don't think I should insulate it - another worry is that it may be putting too much heat into the attic and I worry about mold issues. I will just keep an eye on it this winter and see if I see any water.
Thanks for the input.
 
  #6  
Old 03-09-07, 07:52 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What do you have now?

A single wall vent, or a double wall B-vent? if you got single, then you need to go to the B-Vent.
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-07, 01:45 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Single wall pipe

Single wall pipe must not go thru an unconditioned space. Pipe running thru unconditoned spaces MUST be B-Vent.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: