Closing Furnace intake ducts

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-01-07, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Closing Furnace intake ducts

Hello!
I live in a 3 story house. 2 furnace air intake ducts on the main floor, one on the top floor and one on the lower level. I', remodelling the lower level and adding electric baseboard heaters. Is it OK to close the air intake ducts to the furnace and the 4 'out' ducts on this floor? Does the furnace 'need' the air intake? Will it mess up the furnace if I close the air intake on the lower level?

THANKS for all your replies
Any good website references on this topic out there?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-01-07, 09:57 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

You dont say what kind of duct work you have on them. Try this Turn the blower on and block the cold air return you want to take out. See if the furnace get the air it needs. See how hard it is to open the blower door on the furnace. if its hard then you need more air . if it comes open easy then it OK.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-07, 05:27 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Closing ducts

The way ED mentioned is one way do test but a far better way is with a pair of thermometers. All furnaces have a temperature rise spec. It is usually somewhere between 55 & 70. The spec on your furnace might be on the data plate for the furnace or in the installation & operation manual if you have it. To perform the test all you need is two thermometers (preferably long stem) known to read the same.
Close off the ducts in question.
Turn the thermostat all the way up.
Insert one thermometer in the return as close to the furnace as possible & the other into the supply either just after the first turn in the duct or, if you have A/C, just beyond the A/C coil.
Allow the furnace to run at least 10-15 minutes & monitor the temperatures.
The temperature difference should not exceed the temperature rise spec for the furnace. If it does, try opening the return you closed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: