Advice on Replacing Capacitor..

Old 05-24-07, 05:53 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Advice on Replacing Capacitor..

I am going to install a new capacitor to my Goodman Furnace this weekend. Any advice or suggestions as to some things I may need to watch out for or be careful with? The capacitor has two prongs on top with a wire connected to each. It also looks as if there is only 2 bolts on the top holding the capacitor in place. Is it just a matter of unconnecting the two wires and unscrewing the two bolts on top of the capacitor? Let me know..

Old 05-24-07, 08:08 AM
1st off are you sure it needs a new capacitor ??

To replace it just turn of the power to the furnace, then short across the capacitors terminals with a well insulated screwdriver to drain any stored voltage that may be in it, remove the wires and the mounting bracket. That's it.

Old 05-24-07, 01:35 PM
M
Im a newbie, can you tell me what you mean when you say "short across the capacitors terminals with a well insulated screwdriver" ?

The blower motor to the furnace is not coming on. Its making a humming noise. It still turns freely when I turn it with my hand. I disconnected the capacitor and the motor hums very loudly.. then when I connect the capacitor the humming gets lower and it sounds like it may be trying to start but there is not enough juice coming from the capacitor to make it happen. I dont have a device to check the voltages or to hard start the capacitor. Someone had just suggested to me that it may be the capacitor thats bad. And that it would be the cheapest and easiest part to change out. My house is only 6 years old, is it common for a blower motor to go out that soon? Any other suggestions?

Old 05-24-07, 05:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 39 Upvotes on 37 Posts
Capacitor