Need thermostat wiring help


  #1  
Old 07-30-07, 05:43 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Red face Need thermostat wiring help

Hi All,

I need a little help. I'm trying to replace my yellowed Trane XT302 programmable thermostat with basically anything white and programmable. I bought the best Honeywell at HD only to get to a line that said, "Attention, if you have a Y1, W1 and a W2, please stop this installation now and call a licensed professional." Then I went to Lyon and Conklin to get a PRO version and I ended up with the TH6000 Focus Pro. Unfortunately, it's not quite as straightforward as I was hoping. My install seems like it should be simple. I only have 6 wires. My first problem is that there is no B on the new thermostat. Anyone feel like helping a DIYer who has bitten off more than she can chew?

Here's what I have:
gas furnace with outdoor unit
Trane
Terminals: R,G,B,Y,W1, W2

Thanks in advance! Jenn
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-07, 08:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 424
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The first step is to find out where all the wires go. You will have to go down to the furnace and trace the wires where they go and write them down(would be good if you have your furnace manual). Then read the thermostat manual to see where the wires should go on the thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-07, 05:40 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Focus Pro 6000

We need the actual model number of that stat. Focus Pro 6000 is a family of thermostats. The actual model number would be something like 6110, 6220, 6230, etc.

Is your equipment a heat pump with a gas furnace or maybe a two stage gas furnace with A/C? A model number of the furnace & A/C would help.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-07, 07:33 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
B on Trane is Common.

Old t-stat to New.

R to R

G to G

B to C

Y to Y

W1 to W1

W2 to W2


Make sure you follow the step by step on the advance set up.
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-07, 01:22 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 424
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The reason for double checking where the wires actually go is for just in case the original person wired it up a different way. You could find the manual for the original thermostat and check the wires to see if they match up to what the manual says. Then compare the old and new thermostat to match the wires up.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: