chipmunk going in Bayvent 200


  #1  
Old 09-13-07, 06:32 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,217
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
chipmunk going in Bayvent 200

I have a Bayvent 200 exterior cap on my 3" PVC furnace intake/exhaust. I've got chipmunks storing their seeds in the intake and need to know a good way to keep them out without restricting air flow. I think I vacuumed out a half pound from the burner area and the lower pipe. I still have to clean out the upper pipe to the outside.

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 09-13-07, 07:00 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

You mean the exhaust? (On the left on mine) I can't see how the can put it into the intake since it's behind the cover.

I don't know what you can do, but here this, and maybe something can help you out there??
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-07, 08:42 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,217
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks for posting the photo. I did mean the intake. I saw one climb up the brick and duck under the cap. I am not sure they could make it ino the exhaust with those bars across the opening, and I can't see any seed in that one.

I thought of using hardware cloth over the pipe end, which would be easy enough, but I was concerned about condensation gathering on that and blocking the pipe. I suppose condensation is more of a problem on the exhaust, but I don't know enough to feel comfortable just putting the hardware cloth on.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-07, 04:28 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'd use the 1/4" or 1/2" space screen on the intake.. There is a bar on the intake as well.

Don't cover the exhaust since that will freeze up from the vaper on the exhaust.
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-07, 07:47 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,217
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks. There were no bars on my intake. Maybe the installer broke that part of the Bayvent as well as the plate that goes on the side of the house. I had to drill out one screw because the head was cammed out, and one other screw attachment point was broken off when it was installed. As I've probably mentioned before, the contractor who installed this had at least three different guys in succession working on my installation.

Anyway, I finished vacuuming out over one pound of seed from the intake pipe. It took longer than I thought; I repeatedly banged on the pipe to shake out seeds sitting in the crevices at the fittings. They used short-turn 90s so I was unable to get my 2-1/2" shop vac hose very far into the interior end of the pipe. Next time I'll ask for a cleanout fitting! Now I know why they don't glue the last fittings into the furnace.

After vacuuming out all I could from both ends, I blew air in from both ends while again banging on the pipe.

Then I added the hardware cloth on the intake (left pipe on the outside of my house), tested the furnace with the intake pipe disconnected, put it all back together and everything works fine.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-07, 08:34 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wow.. they climed up the wall that far to drop the seeds?

Glad to see you got it all cleaned up.. I have to take mine apart to clean it out if there is anything there.. we had TONS of bees the last few weeks...
 
  #7  
Old 10-08-08, 10:34 AM
I
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I had the exact same problem, with the chipmunk storing dead leaves and acorns. The repair guy even replaced the pressure switch before realizing the true problem.

Seems like a design flaw in the vent cap. I'm out $250 as a result.

Great suggestion regarding the screen -- I'm heading off to the hardware store today to fix that.
 
  #8  
Old 10-08-08, 01:09 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just got done going over everything on my furnace, and all is good and clear.

My parents are out in the country, and guess they been lucky so far.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: