Help with HEIL Furnace Air Cycler

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-07, 03:02 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Help with HEIL Furnace Air Cycler

Hello,

I have a HEIL furnace Mod# NTC6150KJA1. The air cycler timer is set for 30 minutes and once the time expires, the air cycler kicks on for about 3 seconds and then shuts off. It kicks on again 2 seconds later and stays on for 3 seconds and then shuts off. It continues this cycle for a while before resetting the timer. 30 minutes later, the same circumstance repeats.

It appears that something is stopping the air cycler from continuing it's cycle and I have no idea how to fix. Any assistance is sincerely appreciated!

Thanks and best regards,

Aaron
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-07, 07:45 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This something that is with the furnace itself, or a control that was added on?
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-07, 09:51 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello Jay11J,

There is an electronic module (looks similar to an electronic thermostat) mounted on the side of the furnace. The module allows me to set how often it will kick on (default every 30 minutes) so that outside air can cycle through the house.

Not sure if this is helpful but I can turn this off via the first floor electronic thermostat (off the shelf Home Depot electronic thermostat that I installed). In the thermostat this is called "Fan" and it is set to Auto. So my guess is in this particular scenario, Fan and Air Cycler are one in the same.

Does this answer your question? The real answer is I do not know if it is truly separate because it was here when I purchased the home but I can call the company tomorrow and ask. Thanks for your response.

Aaron
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-07, 05:07 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I know what you are talking about... I am not going to have time today to look into it more since I have my cousin's wedding today.

I'll post back some time on Sunday.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-07, 07:04 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really appreciate it, thank you. Have fun at the wedding!

Aaron
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-07, 05:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, At last... I can get on here.. Been trying to get on all day, and the board wouldn't let me.

Is this air cycler control part of the t-stat, or another control next to the t-stat or furnace?

Give me the model # of the Aircycler control, and I can see for sure what you got.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-07, 05:42 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I had the same problem getting access to the forum, I think it was down.

I dig some more digging and the AirCycler is a separate unit from the furnace. This device can be found at www.aircycler.com. I have model # FR (fan recycling only). It's sole purpose in life is to count down, kick on the furnace fan for a set duration of time and then restart the count down timer.

Thanks,

Aaron
 
  #8  
Old 10-01-07, 09:10 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok,

check to see what your fan ON time is.

Press mode button to fan on. and see what the time is.

Try changing the on time to like 1 min more than it was set at. if it was less than 3 min, bump it up to about 5min.
 
  #9  
Old 10-01-07, 02:30 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

It is now functioning normally after making the change you recommended. Thanks a million!

In your research, did you happen to find out why this happens?

Thanks again,

Aaron
 
  #10  
Old 10-01-07, 02:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I didn't find anything.. I was just thinking maybe a kid may of messed with the timer, and set it to 0 or 1 and they system doesn't like the short time..


What was the fan ON time set to before you made the changes?
 
  #11  
Old 10-01-07, 03:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was always set to 10 minutes since we moved in, but when I went down to make the change, I noticed it was set to 1 minute. My guess is the problem has been occuring ever since it changed to 1 minute. Apparently in AirCycler terms, 1 minute means 3 seconds... =)

Good call, thanks!

Aaron
 
  #12  
Old 10-02-07, 03:44 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Hi Jay,

Guess I spoke to soon. It worked until this morning when the same problem started happening again. I checked the ON and the OFF time and they were still set correctly.

ON = 10 Minutes
OFF = 20 Minutes

I then set the ON time to 12 minutes and wait for the cycle to begin. Same problem.

Any more ideas??

Thanks a lot,

Aaron
 
  #13  
Old 10-02-07, 03:51 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Then I'd say the control has bitten the dust.
 
  #14  
Old 10-02-07, 04:35 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tend to agree. I am going to give them a call in a last ditch effort to fix. If I find anything out, I will post.

Thanks,

Aaron
 
  #15  
Old 10-02-07, 06:42 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just for kicks, just make sure the wires are in place and good contact with the screws.

Keep me posted.
 
  #16  
Old 10-02-07, 10:04 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You read my mind. After I posted earlier I checked the connections from the module to the furnace. The 24 VAC connection pulled out after a light tug. It was very loose.

Tightened it up, restored power, and it is working fine now. I will give it a few days to be sure and will keep you posted.

Thanks,

Aaron
 
  #17  
Old 10-03-07, 12:17 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool, Keep me posted Aaron.
 
  #18  
Old 10-04-07, 11:08 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Jay,

Still functioning normally after two days. Looks to be fixed but I will post if anything changes. For your information:

The wire that was loose is marked with a C at the module and at the furnace. This is the 24 VAC connection.

Thanks for all of your help and have a great week.

Aaron
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: