Trane XV95 Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-30-07, 06:09 AM
E the P's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XV95 Question

I have another question about my new Trane XV95 Furnace. It has a "variable" fan but from what I can tell it only operates in three speeds:

1) Fan on, no heat (low fan speed)
2) Fan on, heat stage1 (higher fan speed)
3) Fan on, heat stage2 (highest fan speed)

As far as I can tell there is no "variable" in the "variable" fan. What's the difference between this an a 3-4 speed non-variable fan?

Also I've noticed a much louder air noise with this new furnace (compared with my 22 year old one). Is this due to the fact that the fan speed is higher?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-30-07, 04:57 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by E the P View Post

As far as I can tell there is no "variable" in the "variable" fan. What's the difference between this an a 3-4 speed non-variable fan?
The difference would be with a blower motor that has various speed options there will be several additional color coded wires and usually a print out on the motor itself as to what the rpm's will be if you pick that one particular colored wire and hook that one up. Once you hook up that wire, that speed is the one the motor always spins at. The motor might have a high, medium or low setting you can choose. These speeds are in the range of 1000 rpm, with the high and low speeds separated by maybe 2-300 rpms.


With a true variable speed set up, the controls in the furnace, along with the motor, are going to be able to automatically change speeds, where the other will not.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-07, 06:23 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In heating mode, the blower has to blow so much CFM to get rid of the heat from the heat exchangers.

On my Trane, 1st stage is hardly heard, and hardly ever runs in 2nd stage since I have a two stage t-stat.. But yes, when it does go into 2nd stage in recovery, or it's -10 outside when the 1st stage is falling behind, the blower is louder.



Do you know what speed your dip switches set at? I also going to need the model # to see if your dip switches are set right.
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-07, 05:34 AM
E the P's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane Models

Jay,

Here is the model info:

XV95 - Model Number: TUH2B080A9V3VA

Trane T-Stat Model Number: TCONT802

I'm sorry I don't know what the dip switches are set at I'll have to check and post a reply.

E the P
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-07, 09:45 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not able to pull up a manual on this for dipswitches settings..

The info is on the back side of the blower door.

You could knock down the blower speed some what as long we stay in the temp rise range.

I'll wait till you post back with the settings, maybe I may be able to find something by then.
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-07, 12:38 PM
E the P's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dip Switches

Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
I am not able to pull up a manual on this for dipswitches settings..

The info is on the back side of the blower door.

You could knock down the blower speed some what as long we stay in the temp rise range.

I'll wait till you post back with the settings, maybe I may be able to find something by then.
I haven't been able to check the door but I found the install manual and here are the dip switches for the Heating Airflow

Stage 1 SW7 on SW8 on = Low 800CFM
SW7 off SW8 on = Med Low 860CFM
SW7 on SW8 off = Normal 960CFM
SW7 off SW8 off = High 1080CFM

Stage 2 SW7 on SW8 on = Low 1100CFM
SW7 off SW8 on = Med Low 1210CFM
SW7 on SW8 off = Normal 1360CFM
SW7 off SW8 off = High1360CFM

All CFM ratings are for 0.1 External Static Pressure. And the "normal" is the factory default. Also, our house is 1,600 Sq. ft.
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-07, 01:55 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have mine set to Med-Low, and am with in temp rise.

Temp rise data is printed on the nameplate sticker on the right hand side inside of the upper half.

Take a temp reading at the filter, and just above the A-Coil.

Take high temp menus low temp, and should be your rise.
 
  #8  
Old 11-02-07, 05:19 AM
E the P's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
I have mine set to Med-Low, and am with in temp rise.

Temp rise data is printed on the nameplate sticker on the right hand side inside of the upper half.

Take a temp reading at the filter, and just above the A-Coil.

Take high temp menus low temp, and should be your rise.
I'll check it out. Thanks again Jay "you da man"!!!!

E the P
 
  #9  
Old 05-01-08, 02:23 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Xv95

How can I tell if my furnace is running on stage 1 or stage 2 it always sounds the same to me when it is heating.
 
  #10  
Old 05-01-08, 03:50 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pop the blower cover off and see what is hooked up to W1 and W2.

You should be able to tell by the sound of first and second stage.

What do you have for t-stat?
 
  #11  
Old 07-30-08, 08:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do any of you have the XV95 manual electronically (pdf)?
 
  #12  
Old 07-30-08, 12:36 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ONL-Lab View Post
Do any of you have the XV95 manual electronically (pdf)?
Yes, what manual are you looking for?

Install?
Owner's?
 
  #13  
Old 11-01-08, 04:58 PM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The variable speed function of this Trane furnace is that the blower speed automatically adjusts to the size of your duct work. It is not going to try to push too much or too little air (or CFM/cubic feet per minute) through your possibly over/undersized duct work. The object is to move the right amount of CFM for your house. As far as the 2 stages go, you want to take the doors off of the furnace and look at the screw-down wire terminals on the circuit board. There should be a wire jumped from the W1 to the W2 terminals. W1 represents the first stage of heat and W2 the second. Some models of these Trane furnaces have dip switches on the circuit board that control the staging delay. If you have a furnace with these dip switches you can see what your delay is set at and time the stages to make sure it kicks up to second stage. On the back of one of the doors there should be a wiring diagram. Around the edges of the diagram should be the dip switch settings information.
 
  #14  
Old 11-02-08, 12:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installation Manual

Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Yes, what manual are you looking for?

Install?
Owner's?
I need a link to the installation manual. Thanks
 
  #15  
Old 11-02-08, 12:27 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The product info was the only thing I can find..
http://www.butcherdistributors.com/I...ce%20facts.pdf

What info are you wanting from the install manual?
 
  #16  
Old 11-02-08, 01:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
The product info was the only thing I can find..
http://www.butcherdistributors.com/I...ce%20facts.pdf

What info are you wanting from the install manual?
Wow, that was quick. Thanks so much.

I just had the XV 95 intalled on Friday but they did not leave the install manual. I think the service facts manual will do just fine. You see, I like to know how things work and I do want to experiment with fans speeds.

Two additional questions on the dip switches.
I want to make sure it is set for the right tonnage of my Trane AC unit which is 7 years old. It is a XE 1200 Model # TTPO48D100A0 Can you tell from this?

Also, dip switches 5 and 6 - Not quite sure what these do. Do they delay the compressor turning back on after shutting off? The Thermostat they installed has a setting in set-up to delay the compressor re-start which I set to 5 minutes.

So, is this a duplicate or do thet do something else.

Again, thanks!
 
  #17  
Old 11-02-08, 05:47 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by il66pony View Post
I just had the XV 95 intalled on Friday
Did you get a two stage stat, or better yet, an IAQ t-stat?

I do want to experiment with fans speeds.
Be careful of what you set, if you set the heat speed to low, you'll over heat the exchanger. You'll want the blower at mid range temp rise.


I want to make sure it is set for the right tonnage of my Trane AC unit which is 7 years old. It is a XE 1200 Model # TTPO48D100A0 Can you tell from this?
It's a 12 SEERS, 4 tons. that's a good size unit.. How big is your furnace and your home?

Also, dip switches 5 and 6 - Not quite sure what these do. Do they delay the compressor turning back on after shutting off?
The dip switch 5 and 6 is the blower off delay.

5-6 off - the blower shuts off right away when the t-stat no longer calls for cool
5-on 6-off, blower will run another 1.5 min
5-off 6-on Blower will run another 3 min
5-6 on will have the ramping "Comfort-R" see the chart.

What do they have it set at?
 
  #18  
Old 11-03-08, 04:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Did you get a two stage stat, or better yet, an IAQ t-stat?


Be careful of what you set, if you set the heat speed to low, you'll over heat the exchanger. You'll want the blower at mid range temp rise.



It's a 12 SEERS, 4 tons. that's a good size unit.. How big is your furnace and your home?


The dip switch 5 and 6 is the blower off delay.

5-6 off - the blower shuts off right away when the t-stat no longer calls for cool
5-on 6-off, blower will run another 1.5 min
5-off 6-on Blower will run another 3 min
5-6 on will have the ramping "Comfort-R" see the chart.

What do they have it set at?

Thanks, again. The house is 3,100 sq. feet, well insulated in Chicago. The old was 132k btu and the new furnace is the 120which is about 115 btu. Which is what the survey indicated. I do have the 2 stage trane programmable thermostat but not the IAQ

For the cooling delay, they had it set for the comfort-r which I will leave as is.
The heat fan speed was set one from the lowest so I bumped it up one to "normal" as I have some long duct runs. If far off rooms are still a problem when it gets real cold, I can bump it up one more.

I set the A/C speed to the highest. That is what I had for the old furnace.

Again, thanks for you quick response

Dave
 
  #19  
Old 11-03-08, 06:50 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by il66pony View Post
I do have the 2 stage trane programmable thermostat
Did they wire up W1 and W2 by itself? (no jumper at the furnace W1/W2)

For the cooling delay, they had it set for the comfort-r which I will leave as is.
You are good there.. Did they add jumper wire from O to Y at the furance?

If far off rooms are still a problem when it gets real cold, I can bump it up one more.
As long you have a two stage t-stat, the furnace is going to run longer and will provide warmer air to the far rooms.. In my house, our master bedroom used to be 4˚ cooler, now it's with in 1˚. (I also run my fan 24/7 in the heating season)

So, I don't think you will need to worry about bumping it up more, otherwise, the air temp is going to be "cooler" if you go higher.

I set the A/C speed to the highest. That is what I had for the old furnace.
What CFM did you set it to? I would not advise going higher than 400 cfm per ton.

If you did go higher, you are not going to get the best comfort due poorer humidity removal.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: