Carrier code 13 - only blowing cold air

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-07, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Carrier code 13 - only blowing cold air

I have a Carrier 8000 TS (4yrs old).
Problem:
It only blows air, the burners do not trun on.
The blowers do not shut off blowing air at any temperature
What have I done so far:
1. Leraned its a code 13
2. Crazy dirty filter - I changed it - stupid on my part for letting it go so long. Maybe the orginal source of the problem.
3. Cleaned the flame senor with 400 gr sand papper
4. Went through the steps as per manual to re start furnace.
Still blowing cold air and not burners turning on.

What do you think I should try next?
I will buy a new flame senors tommorrow see if that works.

Any ideas much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-07, 07:44 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Yikes.. sand paper was NOT a good ideal... Plan on replacing that next year.

13 means a high limit, and as you said the air filter was bad... You need to change the air filter every 2 months..

Shut down the power for a few min, and turn it back on, it should fire off.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-07, 12:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
opps on the sand paper - so much for my neighbour giving some sound advise..lol
I have replace the filter.
I shut down the furnace and restarted it.
Same problem - just blows cold air....why does the blower stay on? hmmm
I will go and buy a new flame sensor. Just incase I did damage by using the sand paper.

The code has change to 33 then back to 13
I notice their is no glow on the flame sensor - is that normal?
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-07, 04:31 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Look for a manual reset switch near the burners, make sure your exhaust pipe is clear outside.

Make sure all the wires are in place on pressure, limit, and safety switch.
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-07, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Yahoo! Furnace working again.
Thanks Jay for the help.
Here is what I did, I hope this is OK...
I turned off the furnace and undid a section of the exhaust pipe going from the furnace through the house.
I tapped on the pipe and I got alot of white dust falling. I did as much as I could and put it back together.
Turned on the furnace, back in business.

Being an Amateur at any DIY. Should I hire someone to clean the pipe. Is that part of a regular maintance on a furnace?
Thx
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-07, 10:29 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
You can take the pipes apart and clean them with a brush..

And, stay on top of that air filter!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes