fan speed adjustment?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-07, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fan speed adjustment?

I had a Rheem Classic 90 Plus system installed at the end of the summer. The fan speed is the same on heat as it when a/c was on. My old sytem (Trane) the fan speed was slower in heat mode. I questioned the dealer about this as I don't really like it blowing that hard. He said that is the factory setting and it could damage the heat exchanger if he set the fan for a lower speed. Is this atypical of a 2-stage? I'd like to set it on the lower speed but don't want to void the warranty. The installer is a Rheem dealer. Thanks fo any info.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-07, 05:06 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this a two stage furnace?

Model #?

The blower could be slower, but has to stay with in the temp rise range on the data plate inside the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-07, 05:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace is 2 stage model RGRA04
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-07, 05:40 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by logan View Post
Furnace is 2 stage model RGRA04
I'd hate to break the bad news.. That is a standard single stage furnace.

Was the job bid for a two stage? if so, I'd call the dealer on monday and say you got a single stage furnace. not a two stage.

That is a small furnace, 45,000 BTU, and looking at the specs, the blower moves about 880 CFM on Med lo speed. Temp rise rated at 30 to 60˚.
 
  #5  
Old 12-23-07, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My mistake. I know it is a single stage. Is med-lo speed the factory setting for both heat and ac mode? Can fan speed be set on low without damaging heat exchanger?
 
  #6  
Old 12-24-07, 08:35 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
YOu can set it down if you want.. Take a temp reading in the return,, and then on the supply above the a/c coil.

And let it run at least 10 to 15 min.

Take the supply temp - return temp will give you the temp rise.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: