Fan motor only runs on manual need help quickly

Old 12-30-07, 08:38 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fan motor only runs on manual need help quickly

Hi
I felt it getting cold in the house. 1st thing I did was check the pilot and it was on. I heard a buzzing noise but it was not very loud(didnt even notice it at 1st).
I started playing around with things and flipped the fan switch to manual on. The fan ran fine. While I was messing around I heard the burners come on. I waited a few seconds and the fan did not come on so I flipped it to manual on. That is where it is now. Im hoping it will keep the house warm this way and the burners will cycle on and off with the fan running constant.

It is a Nordyne Model MGHA-070AAFC-01.

Please help its going to be in the single digets tonight. Hopfully I will be able to find parts tomorrow.
Thanks

Old 12-30-07, 11:17 PM
S
Now im really baffled. I thought I had figured it out to be the thermo fan switch but it suddenly started working. So now a ohm check will show everything is ok until it goes out again. Its pretty cheap so I wont be out much if I buy one just in case.

Old 12-31-07, 01:51 AM
C
how long did you wait for the fan? Sometimes a few seconds will not heat the trigger enough to start the fan.

It all depends on the temp setting of the fan trigger... Once the internal temp pass the pre-set, then the fan will come on.

Sorry I don't know all the technical terms... Basicly, it's cold outside, therefore, it takes a little while for your exchangers to heat up and trigger your fan.

Old 12-31-07, 08:38 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Your initial post didn't describe anything that was necessarily wrong. It sounds like you the thermostat hadn't yet switched the furnace on. Then it did and it lit normally.

Then it lit and you thought the fan should turn on right away, it shouldn't. The fan then turned on when it should.