Cycling Furnace Gas Valve

Old 01-01-08, 02:24 PM
Cycling Furnace Gas Valve

Some of these problems sound similar to mine.

I have a Coleman furnace Model 2880E766 with a Robertshaw HS780 ignition control module on it.

Thermostat calls for heat.
Draft fan comes on to purge the system.
After the purge, the gas valve comes on and I have a flame.
Gas valve cycles off and on even though there is a flame.
Sometimes the main blower will come on but usually it goes through it's cycle until it locks out.

I am an electrician so I got my meter out and checked a few things. There is 25 VAC at the gas valve except when it cycles off and on. I get a constant 25VAC at connection TH where the safeties connect. There is also a wire connected at terminal RS but the wiring diagram on the furnace doesn't show what this is. I've also been told that my unit probably doesn't have a flame rod so at this point I'm a little lost. It seems to me that there would be a flame rod and it just isn't sensing the flame. I did find a way to force it to run but I don't like doing it.

Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-08, 09:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The inducer motor fan should turn on

the the ignitor should switch on for 30-60 seconds and get white hot.

The gas should turn on for the main burners and should light off the igniter within a second.

After a couple of minutes the main fan should turn on

The burners should remain lit until the thermostat turns the furnace off.

You say the burners are turning on and off, but please describe that in more detail, especially the timing.

Try turning the thermostat way up --- to 80 degrees or so to insure that the thermostat isn't shutting off the burner.

Some ignition systems use the ignitor itself as the flame sensor. In such systems, the ignitor can fail to detect the lit burners properly, which might require that the ignitor be replaced.

Double check to make sure that there is no separate flame sensor.