gas heater wont stay lit

Old 01-02-08, 05:24 PM
gas heater wont stay lit

Hey guys.
I've got an American Standard 80 model.
the thing come on fine, fires up.. run well for maybe 5-15 minutes. Then I've got a problem. it shuts off.. then it tries to relight itself. I can hear it click.. click click... each time the burners actually flame up, but do not stay on for more than a half a second. at first i suspected the unit was getting too hot, but if so, why would it try to fire up again? And, if it was a supply line problem, why would it run fine for the first 10 minutes? perhapse my sensor is shot?
one other thing, it ran just fine before i got in there and vacumed it out... so i dont know what i did to it. Any help would be appriciated... also, im a noob when it come to this, so please explain and troubleshooting in detail. THANKS!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-08, 06:13 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Originally Posted by R-o-D View Post
Hey guys.
I've got an American Standard 80 model.
the thing come on fine, fires up.. run well for maybe 5-15 minutes. Then I've got a problem. it shuts off.. then it tries to relight itself. I can hear it click.. click click... each time the burners actually flame up, but do not stay on for more than a half a second. at first i suspected the unit was getting too hot, but if so, why would it try to fire up again? And, if it was a supply line problem, why would it run fine for the first 10 minutes? perhapse my sensor is shot?
one other thing, it ran just fine before i got in there and vacumed it out... so i dont know what i did to it. Any help would be appriciated... also, im a noob when it come to this, so please explain and troubleshooting in detail. THANKS!

Furnaces don't just turn on. A whole series of electrical connections have to be made, one after the other to get heat out of a furnace.