trane XR80 help needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-08, 05:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
trane XR80 help needed

Hello All,
I have a trane xr80. The unit is less then 5 years old. It is blowing cold. I went downstairs and went thru the reset process and here is what happens.

Once everything is a go the furnace fan will start blowing. After a short period of time you can hear the gas ignition and hear the gas burning and blower blowing, all is normal at this point(you can feel the duct work by the furnace getting hot with the airflow). After less the 30 seconds the whole unit shuts down.

It then goes on to repeat this sequence time after time until I kill the power to the unit or turn the thermostat all the way down.

I have tried this repeatedly after turning the power off for up to 15 minutes.

Any ideas or feedback would be much appreciated.

BRRRRRRR, figures it would happen during a cold snap!

THANKS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-08, 11:36 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
These are the worst kind of problems to quickly figure out when the flame lasts longer than a few seconds, and the fact all the sequence functions work every time, rather than on out and outright total malfunction in the sequence.

Make sure your filter is clean and you do not have heat registers closed down or cold air returns blocked.

Make sure the problem still happens even if you temporarily set the thermostat up to 80 degrees just to see what the furnace does then.

Check to make sure you have no condensate backup to where after the furnace runs, it backs up the condensate and causes drop in system pressure. Then after the furnace sits off for a bit, water slowly weeps out and it is able to run for a short again. Make sure the line is clear through the trap direction and up into the furnace direction as well.

Let us know if you have central air conditioning also. And let us know if you have been very good while you have lived here in faithfully changing the filter or if you have caught it being totally plugged up in the past, as if so, this can coat a heat exchanger and upper a/c coil in a caked-on dust.


Start with that stuff. Then let us know.

There are other possible causes, but start with that and let us knoiw and we can them move on if necessary.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-08, 12:58 PM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
check the flame rod too

It may be sooted, remove, clean with steel wool (be gentle) and re-install. Double check also that the white wire from the rod to the module is properly connected and the connection is tight

The device is by the burners and it is in direct contact with the flame. It should look similar to this:


Get back in touch if this does not work.
 

Last edited by pflor; 01-10-08 at 02:42 PM.
  #4  
Old 01-10-08, 06:38 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
On the control board, what is the Red LED flashing? #'s of flash is an error code.
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-08, 03:27 AM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Depending on the exact M/N of your unit (say: TDD1....), the table below showing "error flash codes" may apply. The same (or similar) chart should be somewhere in the furnace [back of service door? near the board?].


Also, when was the last time your flue/chimney was serviced? a partial blockage in it could cause this problem too (seemingly unlikely, but possible)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes