A/C Heater Problems


  #1  
Old 02-16-08, 08:23 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Heater Problems

UPKA-036JAZ Ruud Heat Pump
Ruud Silhouette II Furnace
Furnace Board 1012 920A

Upgrading to a Rite Temp 6030 Thermostat

I tried upgrading my T-Stat today and now my heat and a/c doen't work, no power at all. I'm assuming its a fuse but I'm not sure where it is, I see a red wire with a black cylindrical coming out from the Board to a transformer which I think is the fuse.

Where is the fuse?
Where can I obtain one?
What voltage is the fused wire?
Thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 02-16-08, 09:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the Furnace board all 12/24 volts? Is it AC or DC?
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-08, 04:24 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know what Ruud uses for fuse, but kinda sounds like you have an in line fuse. most of them are 3 or 5 amps fuse. So you may have the glass tube type in this set up.

I know Trane and Carrier, use the Automotive type.

Did you turn off the power when you changed out the t-stat?

IT is 24 volts AC
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-08, 09:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I turned off the A/C but forgot the Furnace, its my first time dealing with furnaces. Yes it looks like a black inline fuse but its sealed, I can't open it, so I'm gonna cut the wire and add a automotive fuse. Whatcha think?
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-08, 09:17 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rudd Gas Furnace Problem!

Rudd Gas Furnace Problem!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rudd Gas Furnace Problem!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can any one out here help me with this dilema that I'm having? I have a 2004 Rudd Achiever Series "Super Quiet 80" gas furnace and the problem I'm having is after I set the thermostat in heat mode and set it at 90, the inducer fan comes on for about 30 sec., then the electric style electrobe ignitor starts ticking and arcing for 10sec. gas ignites. After ticking of electrobe stops which happens 5 sec. after flame appears, the fire roars for maybe another 5 sec. and then it goes out. In another 10 sec. the electrobes starts ticking again , then the unit ignites again, then it repeats what it did at first. After the flame goes out for the second time, the blower fan starts to run with the inducer fan and it finally shut down after 5 min. Can anyone help me with this problem,Please?????? Oh yeah, I have the control board that has the 3 blinking lights, 2 green, one yellow which is the flame light and which is not coming on at all and this a new board.
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-08, 10:57 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was the fuse.

I'm upgrading the Thermostat to Rite Temp 6030, the problem I'm having is that the heat pump doesn't turn on but the furnace does, the furnace is suppose to be the Emergency heat source and the heat pump suppose to be the primary heat source.
The wires I have coming from the wall:
BLUE: B
GREEN: G
BLACK: E
YELLOW: Y
RED: R
BROWN: C

In the funace at the other end of the wires:
BLUE: Goes out to the heat pump directly
GREEN: G
BLACK: Goes on the board at W and then to the heat pump
YELLOW: Y
RED: R
BROWN: C

The Thermostat has:
C B O W2 W Y Y2 RH RC G A

Jumpers:
1 HP-AUX TYPE: Gas/oil or Elect
2 HVAC POWER: Singer Power(R) or Power RH Power RC
3 HEAT TYPE: Aux Only or Heat Pump
4 FAN CONTROL: Electric or H-Pump or Gas or oil

If anyone can tell me how to configure them I'll check them against mine. Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-08, 04:14 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

BLUE: B
GREEN: G
BLACK: W2
YELLOW: Y
RED: RH
BROWN: C

RiteTemp web site must be down, I am not able to down load the manual to see on my end. I'll post back as soon as I get the manual down loaded.
 

Last edited by Jay11J; 02-17-08 at 04:55 PM. Reason: Removed ? mark since it was right.
  #8  
Old 02-17-08, 05:01 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BAJI26 View Post

Jumpers:
1 HP-AUX TYPE: Gas/oil or Elect
2 HVAC POWER: Singer Power(R) or Power RH Power RC
3 HEAT TYPE: Aux Only or Heat Pump
4 FAN CONTROL: Electric or H-Pump or Gas or oil

If anyone can tell me how to configure them I'll check them against mine. Thanks!
follow the jumper set up on page 20.
Aux type is gas/oil #1 on the jumper.
 
  #9  
Old 02-17-08, 05:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got it working, the black wire w2 needs to be disconnected, when connected the blower will not run and the problem was that I needed to reset the heat pump. Thanks All!
 
  #10  
Old 02-17-08, 05:25 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
???? You need that black wire.. W on your furnace is for the gas heat.
 
  #11  
Old 02-17-08, 06:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
???? You need that black wire.. W on your furnace is for the gas heat.
But when I connect it the blower stops. Any idea what's going on?

Should I connect it?
 
  #12  
Old 02-17-08, 09:09 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What was the room temp? Set point?

I don't know Rheem of they stop the blower when there call for heat or not? (Some furnace out there will shut down the blower to help warm up the heat exchanger)
 
  #13  
Old 02-17-08, 09:56 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So you would suggest hook up the Black (W) wire on the Thermostat and see if the blower cuts in at all?
 
  #14  
Old 02-17-08, 10:03 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, hook up the W from furnace to W2 at the stat.

And did you set the jumpers as it shown on page 20?
 
  #15  
Old 02-18-08, 08:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the jumper set per pg20, which is 2-3b-4.
When it says:
Set jumper 1 if you have Gas or Oil aux heat.
Does that mean that the gas will come on in the emergency? On the old thermostat AUX was the heat pump (primary heating source) and Gas was the emergency.

So if I set Jumper 1 = Gas or Oil aux heat , the heat pump will still only be the primary right?
 
  #16  
Old 02-18-08, 08:46 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct, gas will be the aux heat. heat pump will be the main heat.
 
  #17  
Old 02-18-08, 11:32 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I got it working the way it should, I connected all the wires:
BLUE: B
GREEN: G
BLACK: W2
YELLOW: Y
RED: RH
BROWN: C

Jumpers:
1-on
2-on
3b-on
4-on

http://www.ritetemp-thermostats.com/6030.html

Reset the Heat Pump via the breaker @ the breaker box.

TESTED at 72degrees -
target temp=74/heat pump came on
target temp=78/furnace came on heat pump off.

A/C works fine.

ALL GOOD TO GO.
 
  #18  
Old 02-18-08, 12:21 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you are set then.
 
  #19  
Old 02-21-08, 01:50 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Back On the Thermostat Issue

1. Strange, there is a humming coming from the heat pump what could it be?

2. The heat pump comes on sometimes and the furnace comes on most of the time, what can the problem be?

Thanks!
 
  #20  
Old 02-21-08, 02:25 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wink

1. Strange, there is a humming coming from the heat pump what could it be?
This in the outside unit when off?? Is it a transformer there?
Or is the contactor pulled in and unit not run??????

The heat pump comes on sometimes and the furnace comes on most of the time, what can the problem be?
What is the Dual Fuel heat pump control set at. So one runs then the other. This is what will say what runs at what temp outside.
 
  #21  
Old 02-21-08, 05:52 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The humming is when the thermostat is on (auto) its a heat pump/air condition and the furnace is inside. How does this combination work?

Does the heat pump is the primary and when its about freezing the furnace should come on? It's in the 60's in the day and 40s at night.

I just tried the A/C and the furnace comes on, I'm really puzzled. HELP!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: