Parts needed to hook up central air to furnace


  #1  
Old 02-28-08, 09:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Parts needed to hook up central air to furnace

Just had an older Magic Chef (Armstrong) forced air gas furnace installed and need to know what components I need and how to hook it up to my central air system. Furnace model is BG65-105D-25 and serial is B13928K9B. It doesn't look like there are any existing components in the furnace.

Thanks- Jackie
 
  #2  
Old 02-28-08, 10:27 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
Welcome to our forums Jackie

Your question is not clear.

More info is needed.
Do you currently have a central air conditioning system that was not connected to your new furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-08, 12:03 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The original furnace needed to be replaced and was hooked up to my central air, my Dad found this furnace that is in excllent shape but was for heat only, I would like to keep this furnace but I need a control that will run my air conditiner and furnace. All the wiring is there but like I say no control to operate both from the thermostat which operated both before.
Thank you,
Jackie
 

Last edited by GregH; 02-28-08 at 12:21 PM. Reason: Not necessary to quote previous post.
  #4  
Old 02-28-08, 12:20 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
So, you have a new furnace with the cooling coil still in place and you need to know how to wire it?
Is the new furnace hooked up and heating your house?
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-08, 12:44 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by GregH View Post
So, you have a new furnace with the cooling coil still in place and you need to know how to wire it?
Is the new furnace hooked up and heating your house?
The furnace that is installed in the house now does not have any kind of board or control to hook the air conditioner to it, this furnace is only wired for heating. I`m sure there is a circuit board or control that I can put on the furnace to operate the air conditioner that is outside and the fan in the furnace to blow threw the air conditioner coil that is in the plenum of the furnace..
Thank you for all the time your giving me,

Jackie
 
  #6  
Old 02-28-08, 12:51 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, yes the furnace is in place and heating the house. The wiring that is coming from the air conditioner to the furnace is 24 volt, the contol would have to be a 24 volt to operate the air conditioner motor outside plus the furnace blower to blow thre the air conditioner coil and then when I place my thermostat on heat the air conditioner should shut down and the furnace heat should kick in.

Thank you,

Jackie
 

Last edited by GregH; 02-28-08 at 01:46 PM. Reason: NO need to quote entire previous post.
  #7  
Old 02-28-08, 01:54 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
The a/c is normally wired using the transformer that is in the furnace to energize the contactor in the outdoor unit from the thermostat..

If you have a 24 volt heating only thermostat on the new furnace this one would be replaced with a heat/cool thermostat.
How you connect everything would depend on how the new furnace is equipped.

If you are not familiar with wiring it is a simple connection for a tradesperson to make.
What about the person that hooked up the furnace?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: