Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces
Reload this Page >

Do furnace pros regularly check for heat exchanger cracks, and by what methods?

Old 03-02-08, 03:12 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post

Thought of this thread when I saw pflor's pic (on another thread near the top) on a scope used for checking?

I have seen many furnaces built where it does not seem like there is a real easy way to look into the heat exhanger area. So I was wondering if pros, when paid to do so, are likely really carrying out this job properly, and if they bother dismantling parts to be able to get in for a good look.

Do some of you pros care to share how you go about it on some of the makes of furnaces?

Old 03-02-08, 03:55 PM
T
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I am not a pro yet but maybe someday. There are two methods I am aware of. The old style furnaces without combustion blowers can be checked by watching the flames. The airflow around the heat exchanger will cause the flames to dance if there are cracks in the chamber. On newer furnaces with combustion blowers there is a method where a chemical is sprayed around the chamber. With the chamber inlets blocked, the combustion blower will draw the chemical into the chamber and can be detected at the flew outlet using a refrigerant leak detector.

Last edited by tater1800; 03-02-08 at 05:20 PM.
Old 03-02-08, 05:43 PM
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
They have long mirrors for this!

Old 03-02-08, 05:46 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Heat Exchanger Cracks

There are several methods. I use an electronic combustion analyzer. If there is a change in the composition of the exhaust gases with the fan off & on, that is a good indication of a leak in the heat exchanger. When a change is detected, that is justification for pulling the furnace apart.

Old 03-04-08, 09:16 AM
E