what kind of ignition control I should purchase?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-08, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what kind of ignition control I should purchase?

Hello,
Lastweek my gas furnace Rheem (model # RGLD-10EE-JR) about 20 years old dind't work. I mean:
1. There's a pilot flame all the time
2. I hear the sound click-click-click
But the nothing happens to the gas burner.
After reading several threads about Rheem RGLD problems in the forum & their solution, I thought my problem caused by bad ignition control (as shown in picture below). But I'm confused what kind of ignition control I should buy.

My model of ignition control is Robertshaw Ignition Module SP715A. But I saw 02 kinds of ignition controls sold in the internet: SP715A lockout (this is about $120.00) and SP715A non lockout (This one is much cheaper than the first one about $80.00). So I don't know which one I should buy.
Thanks a lot
Ed

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-09-08, 01:14 PM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have an IPI system there (=Intermittent Pilot Ignition)

IF the module is the problem, the picture you have posted tells it all: Robertshaw-SP715A ignition module

BUT...before you go out buy a new module, please be aware of the fact that the click-click-click sound you report indicates that the ignitor's electrode is NOT being able to sense the presence of the pilot flame. Yes, the pilot flame is there, but the electrode can't feel it. The module may not be at fault here.

Maybe the inside of the hood is dirty with rust causing the flame to waver, or the flame is a bit weak and is not totally engulfing BOTH the electrode and ground (hood) assembly at the pilot burner...if so, clean the rust particles and/or increase the pilot burner line pressure from the gas valve. Another likely reason could be a missing ground wire (having perhaps gotten disconnected or maybe it's just a lose connection)...make sure the GND connections (the green wire?) at the module and the chassi of the furnace are good and tight.

If your furnace uses natural gas, the non-lockout is the one you need. Propane uses the lockout one.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-08, 05:25 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ignition control

I agree with Pflor's comments except the part about which module you should use. With propane you MUST use the lockout model. With natural, you COULD use the non-lockout but the lockout model is safer. Why they still make non-lockout modules is beyond me.
 
  #4  
Old 03-09-08, 06:46 PM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lockout models are safer, Grady is right there, no arguments on that.

Why they still make the non-lockout models?
easy enough answer --> natural gas is lighter than air, so the gas will naturally float upwards, vent through the smoke pipe and won't be a safety issue. Propane is heavier than air, lockout then is a must have. This is why they still make non-lockout models.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-08, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,561
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rheem furnaces of that vintage: Remove and clean pilot EVEN if you think it looks good. I have had many just like the posted picture and cleaning pilot corrected problem. You must start here as pflor stated
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-08, 12:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd appreciate all your advices. Since 2 weeks ago, every time my family needs warm, I've ran to garage & used paper fan to "ignite" the gas burner manually. After several times "to blow" by using the paper fan, my furnace works. However I'm just student, don't know anything about furnace and I don't have any document (user manual, schema, etc.) about my furnace. So please advise me how to remove, and clean the pilot, ground hood and/or ihow to increase the pilot burner line pressure from the gas valve

I've already checked the GND wire: it still connects to ignition control very tight.


 
  #7  
Old 03-10-08, 02:34 AM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The photo on your very first posting, the one that shows the module, also shows (partial view) the pilot burner assembly. It's view is partially obstructed by the metal pipe (gas pipe) right above the module, but one can see the bracket, the screws holding it in place, and an orange wire (the ignition wire I presume)

Below is a doc I have prepared for you and that shows pics of pilot burners as well as some instructions on how to DIY the clean-up job. Hope it helps.

 
  #8  
Old 03-10-08, 10:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi pflor,
Thank you so much pflor! I've printed your instructions & diagramyou prepared for me. I'll try & let you know the result.
Ed
 
  #9  
Old 03-11-08, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hi pflor, finally my furnace works after one hour following your instructions & diagram. I'm very happy! Thank you so much! You're a man !
Have a very nice day!
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-08, 03:56 AM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to read things worked out...

You da man...really...I only talked the talk, you walked the walk
 
  #11  
Old 12-14-08, 11:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: southern CA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electric ignition

ok so i got to check the ground wires which are green so they are gutten tight like me departed wife
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: