Blower not working after Aprilaire 400A humidifier install


  #1  
Old 03-14-08, 08:39 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blower not working after Aprilaire 400A humidifier install

Couple of weeks ago I installed Aprilaire 400A humidifier on my '93 York system. It worked fine until this morning when I realized that the blower is not coming on when the thermostat calls for heat. The furnace comes on, exhaust pipe gets really hot (too hot it seems) and there is no air coming out of the vents. I tried reseting the system with the master switch - no luck. I tried putting the fan on via my thermostat - no luck. Since I was late for work this am, I didnt have time to troubleshoot further. I left the system off. Any ideas?

By the way, the humidifier is connected to the EAC pin: (120 VAC) --> transformer --> 24 VAC

Rob in VA
 
  #2  
Old 03-14-08, 02:13 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have done some more troubleshooting... The heat comes on for a minute or two, and shuts off with LED 4 blinks (open limit). I checked the voltage off the blue (heat) wire and it's 0V. EAC pin is also showing 0V. I think I can hear a relay click few seconds after the burners ignite, but no blower operation. I did check to see if the blower turns manually - it does. What else can I check to troubleshoot this issue?
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-08, 02:44 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wink

With the blower calling to run say with fan on. Give it a push to spin . If it runs then its the capacitor. If not check for power to it ,if its ok then its a new motor.
 

Last edited by Jay11J; 03-14-08 at 05:59 PM.
  #4  
Old 03-14-08, 02:47 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wink

Puchatek

Stay in on post here .It helps us help you better
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-08, 06:05 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keep it in one post here..

I'd say you may have a board or relay that has gone out on you.

You've bench test the blower motor, and that is fine.
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-08, 08:35 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I'm not sure if what I did is good, but for time being I moved the blue wire going to the blower from HEAT to HUM, which seems to provide 120VAC when the heat is called on. This seems to work, and apparetly the only 'feature' I'm missing is the heat blower off delay. In the mean time I'm gonna try to find a good control board replacement (p/n 031-01234-000) I'm guessing any of the 'generic' boards should work, or do I need to find this specific part number board?

Thanks,

Rob in VA
 
  #7  
Old 03-15-08, 04:16 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As long the board will match your furnace, should be OK.

I wouldn't leave it like this very long.
 
  #8  
Old 03-25-08, 11:48 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found a White Rodgers 50A55-843 Universal Furnace Control Module... Looks to be a replacement for my OE board. Any issues with using this one?

Thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: