gas furance issue


  #1  
Old 03-20-08, 06:28 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation gas furance issue

I have an older gas forced air furance which has been working great all winter. I went to my office today and it was just blowing cold air. I checked the pilot and it is lit and buring great and the blower is working. I have a digital thermastat, a newer one and the batteries are working. I can't figure out why the burners won't ignite. Any suggestions? I have a full house tomorrow.
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-08, 06:31 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation forced air gas furance

I have an older gas forced air furance which has been working great all winter. I went to my office today and it was just blowing cold air. I checked the pilot and it is lit and buring great and the blower is working. I have a digital thermastat, a newer one and the batteries are working. I can't figure out why the burners won't ignite. Any suggestions? I have a full house tomorrow
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-08, 07:50 PM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I understand you correctly, the "pilot" is lit, not the main burners, and the house blower is running (hence the cold air in the house).

Hot surface ignition? intermittent pilot ignition? standing pilot ignition? Can't be of much help without additional info.

You probably have there a tripped limit switch.
Can't tell for sure until you provide additional information.
MFR and M/N for this furnace, and also Thermostat's MFR & M/N. How old is the unit?

Unless is something really simple, you may not have enough time to get the defective part(s) purchased and installed before your guests show up at the door tomorrow.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-08, 06:04 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The type of furance is a Climatrol

Model 170-105
serial 4PAE

105,000 input BTU

THe thermastat is newer (3-4 years) honeywell. I jumped the white and red wires together and it did not trigger the burners. I am thinking the gas valve may be shot in the furance. Don't know for sure. ANy input
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-08, 06:50 AM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd say check the limit and/or flame-rollout switches first. One or both may be open. (not all furnaces have rollouts but all have limits)

I tried searching for Climatrol and the only site that comes close is from Australia. Not likely much help in getting the unit's manuals on that end.

So, pics are the only thing that could help here to hopefully point you in the right direction with tips and suggestions for things to check.

To check if the gas valve is good or not you'll need a voltmeter. Do you have one?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: