Bard Furnace Heat OK but Fan Wont Turn Off

Old 04-02-08, 01:43 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bard Furnace Heat OK but Fan Wont Turn Off

Just got in an older home and the furnace isnt cooperating.

It is a Bard H1068 Gas Fired Forced Air Furnace.

It reaches the temp - 68F and the heat turns off but the fan continues to run forcing out cool air. I have to manually turn off/on the switch.

It is connected to an Aprilaire Model 110 - 112. I have manuals for both but nothing there.

The thermostat is set to heat and the Fan set to Auto.

Are there any other settings I should be aware of anywhere? This is the first home and first furnace so a real Newbie here!

thanks for any suggestions,
frank

Old 04-02-08, 04:59 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
So recently of getting the house that maybe you can hit up the ex-owner of the house for repair bill, due to non-disclosure, maybe?

Does this furnace have a fan timer board on it? Does it have adjustable settings? Or it is defective on the board.

Or you have a fan/limit control instead, that operates off heat, rather than a timer, and the setting is such on the fan control that the off setting is less than roomtemp setting (it be odd to be that low, but worth looking into). And even if it isn't that, the fan switch may be shot, and the contacts inside for the "off-fan" position are shot, as a logical guess.

Another possibility:Could there be a coincidence where the furnace happens to high limit about the time the temp reaches set point?, so then the fan stays running due to high limit?

Old 04-02-08, 06:09 PM
F
Originally Posted by ecman51`
So recently of getting the house that maybe you can hit up the ex-owner of the house for repair bill, due to non-disclosure, maybe?