In Duct Fan

Old 11-25-00, 06:58 PM
Kemo
Visiting Guest
I looked through the history in this forum and found a few message regarding in-sufficent air flow to certain rooms. A 2nd floor bed room doesn't get enough air flow because the duct run is too long. Has anyone had any luck/experience with installing an "in-duct" booster fan. Looks like I can pick up a small one for about $30 and install it in the 6 inch round duct in the furnance room of the basement. Will it add enough air flow? There is currently none (a little tiny bit but not enough to do the job).

Thanks in advance for you help!!

Old 11-27-00, 06:04 PM
Visiting Guest
Thumbs down

Kemo-
The in line duct-fans are .... well .. let me put it this way-your going to garner no more than $30.00 worth of results. As an HVAC designer I have had little luck with these, the only possible exception being on a long flat{Horizontal} run with little to no vertical lift.

TIM

Old 11-27-00, 07:44 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hi:Kemo

TIM G expresed it very well. I totally agree.
In duct fans aren't really of much benefit.

Suggestions:
You might check for seperated ducting.
Close up <about half way> the registers in the lower level rooms. Same for the warmer rooms on the second level, if there are any.
Check the furnaces fan speed. It may be adjustable to a higher speed.

You just may have to use an electric room heater to avoid the costs of installing an upper level seperate forced air heater.

Good Luck,
TomBartco
Natural Gas Energy Technician and Consultant

Old 11-27-00, 08:28 PM
Kemo
Visiting Guest
More