York Furnace Won't Light

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-19-08, 11:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntington, WV a transplanted Pittsburgher
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York Furnace Won't Light

Hey all-this is my first time here. I have a York Affinity 9T gas furnace (about 4 years old) that isn't coming on, although it did a couple of weeks ago. The furnace itself is giving a message of 3 flashing red lights which means the "first stage pressure switch [is] stuck open". I have a vague notion of what this means but no clue at all about how to remedy it. Does anyone know what this is and can you tell me if it's something a pro needs to do or can this be handled in-house (pun intended).

Our house is 2 stories, brick, built in the '40s......
Thanks!!!
 

Last edited by K9Lover72; 10-19-08 at 11:47 AM. Reason: Needed to include more info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-19-08, 11:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,485
Received 28 Votes on 22 Posts
I am not familiar with your particular furnace but I do have an idea of what may be wrong. I suspect the pressure switch it is referring to is the draft proving switch connected to the induced draft blower. It will be connected by a rubber hose to a nipple on the blower housing (most likely) and you need to remove the hose and make sure both the hose and the nipple to the blower are clear. I have had the nipple fill with corrosion and stop the minute air pressure signal from reaching the switch diaphragm. You need to pass a small rod, like a drill bit, through the nipple to be sure it is clear.

Be sure to turn the power off when working inside the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-08, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntington, WV a transplanted Pittsburgher
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wow-I was posted on This Old House and didn't get any info at all yesterday. Today someone on that board suggested I try here; obviously glad I did! I'm gonna go try this....thanks in advance!!
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-08, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntington, WV a transplanted Pittsburgher
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately, it didn't seem to work, but without a manual, I can't even be sure we were working on the right thing. But thanks for the advice; it is greatly appreciated!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: