Replacement thermostat with zone control

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-08, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacement thermostat with zone control

Hi folks. I am looking for recommendations for a programmable thermostat to replace the current Honeywell T87F. I have an oil-fired forced air furnace, separate transformers for heat and AC, and zone dampers controlled by a Honeywell MM2. The master stat is a Honeywell T87F 2873 with 6 wires on a Q539A sub-base. The MM2 literature indicates that a Honeywell Chronotherm (T8602C) was the recommended electronic stat some time back, but Honeywell tells me they have nothing that I am allowed to install that will work with this system. I got the impression that their customer service person really didn't understand what I was talking about with zone dampers and master/slave thermostats. I'm just looking to replace the master with a programmable unit at this point. Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-08, 09:01 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I helped someone else with almost the same thing you had.. I'll have to look for it in the morning.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-08, 08:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Jay. I didn't think this would be such a big deal, but the forced air zone dampers seem to give everybody the willies.
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-08, 08:27 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oops. I forgot to look into this.. I am heading out the door for work, will check it tonight.
 
  #5  
Old 10-26-08, 03:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Same issue as my post

Jay - I posted T87F to RTH7400 earlier today - it is a similar issue.. trying to find a programmable tstat to replace the T87F..
 
  #6  
Old 10-26-08, 07:40 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, found that post, and the guy end up using a LUX TX9000TS.

The reason this is hard to find a t-stat for this is that the control board are dated, and new zone board don't need the "special" thermostat for it to work.
 
  #7  
Old 10-27-08, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I remember the beginning of that post, but didn't see the followups showing exactly the same setup I have. I remember looking at the Lux documentation and scratching my head over that final note about damaging the system if the "B" is the common. That guy John Lx took some great pictures though. Thanks for the assist. I'll start looking for the Lux.
 
  #8  
Old 10-27-08, 12:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not sure who sells Lux, but today I looked at the Rite Temp at work (Home Depot) and that can work for you as well.

This Links shows a bit more about it.
I know the model# that are listed on the link above are last year's model.

Anything from 6022 on up can work.
 
  #9  
Old 11-03-08, 04:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rite-Temp 6022 replaces T87F

Worked perfectly in my application -
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: