Firomatic on ol furnace?


  #1  
Old 11-29-08, 06:05 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 308
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Firomatic on oil furnace?

What is a Firomatic? I have a oil fired forced hot air furnace. Repair guy says I should have a "Firomatic". Is this some sort valve to stop oil flow in case of fire? I haven't had a chance to call the oil company but this was on the invoic. Alos he says my oil line should be replaced. Presently it isn't in bad shape. It has had concrete pour over it though so changing it will mean chipping away at the floor. Do they make some sort of fuel line that can be run on the surface of the floor so I don't have to recement the floor. Its not a finished basement so looks aren't too important. Thanks TimH

ETA: I googled Firomatic so I now know what it is. Is that installed at the burner or the tank. Burner makes sence but what do I know. That rest of my questions sill need answers though. Than ks TimH

ETA: What is a tiger loop , and a OSV
 

Last edited by TimH; 11-29-08 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Add more info
  #2  
Old 11-29-08, 04:02 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Parts

The prefered material when the fuel line is in contact with concrete is plastic coated copper.

Here is information on the TigerLoop:
Tigerloop

OSV is short for Oil Safety Valve. Here's info on them:
http://www.websterfuelpumps.com/pdffiles/osv1.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 11-29-08, 04:02 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Parts

The prefered material when the fuel line is in contact with concrete is plastic coated copper.

Here is information on the TigerLoop:
Tigerloop

OSV is short for Oil Safety Valve. Here's info on them:
http://www.websterfuelpumps.com/pdffiles/osv1.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-08, 05:50 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 308
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thanks for the info Grady. So if its plastic coated cooper how do you strip the coating off to flare it? Does it just peel away with a little effort.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-08, 06:52 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Plastic coating

Yes, you can just use a knife to cut off as much as you need to. Very much like stripping solid strand wire.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: