Goodman 100-4


  #1  
Old 12-02-08, 06:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman 100-4

I have a Goodman 100-4. It has been messing up. It will kick on and go off after a few seconds after the flame has been lit. After some testing I thought it might have been the board. So I bought a white rodgers 50t35-743. After installing the board it would only get to heating up the HSI then shut completely off but keep the blower going when in auto fan. The 50T35-743 is suppose to be a replacement part for the B18099-13. I put in a new flame sensor and a new HSI. I also bypassed all that I could to rule out any other part. Now im just stuck. The transformer puts out 25v.

Please help
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-08, 06:29 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
White-Rodgers

I've heard of those boards but never used one. What are letters in front of the 100-4? Are you getting any kind of fault code? Pay particular attention to the instructions on page 3 of the installation sheet. http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/.../0037-6533.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-08, 06:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sorry its a gmp. The only falut code that I get is 1 Blink which is an inigtion failure. But that is rare it just keeps trying to restart and that is on the old board the B18099-13. The new board just shuts it status light off.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-08, 06:47 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Gmp 100

Did you cut the white jumper wire between pins 4 & 7 on the 9 pin connector? If you have double & triple checked the installation, look at the "Diagnostic Features" on page 4 of the installation sheets.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-08, 06:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The old board is from the past owner. the 4 and 7 was already cut. on the new board I used the connector that was already there since it use to work great. When i use the 9 pin that came with the new board it just a power wires. I dont have an instaltion guide for the furnace. But will look for one again.
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-08, 07:04 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Installation Guide

The installation guide I was refering to is the one for the White-Rodgers control. If you have misplaced it, I've provided a link in my first post.
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-08, 07:08 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
oh sorry. Ok im reading it right now it was only one sheet that they gave me. The only thing that i dont understand is when they say disconnect the edge card connector.
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-08, 07:34 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 12,682
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Edge Card Connector

As I recall, the 13 board doesn't have an edge card connection but some of the earlier boards did.
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-08, 07:37 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
well there wasnt any other connections with the furnace. so im not sure if thats what its looking for
 
  #10  
Old 01-27-11, 07:52 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just ran up against this same problem

Hi all, yes I know this post is 2 years old but I wanted to share what I found on this same problem and how I handled it.

The B18099-13 PCB on my Goodman GMP has been acting up. I ordered a 50T35-743 and installed it this evening. The problems started when I tried to figure out where all the extra wires were supposed to go. Those wires were in my old 9 pin connector.

The Instructions for the B18099-13 expect that everyone has an edge connector on their furnace. My GMP was manufactured in March of 2001 and has no edge connector.

The 9 pin connector has the same connection points on the PCB as the edge connectors so all you have to do is move the pinned wires from the old 9 pin connector to the new 9 pin connector. For the GMP furnace the white wire that jumps between 1 and 4 is cut. I simply used a pin pusher and removed it alltogether.

The reason the gas valve never turns on is because all those permissives are not wired up.

Good luck!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: