Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Gas and Oil Home Heating Furnaces
Reload this Page >

Oil tank ran dry, refilled 2 months later, won't start. Tried bleeding already.

Oil tank ran dry, refilled 2 months later, won't start. Tried bleeding already.

Old 12-06-08, 02:35 PM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Oil tank ran dry, refilled 2 months later, won't start. Tried bleeding already.

Hi,

I'm a college student and just moved in with a friend of mine. He has a house but had let the furnace's oil tank run dry since he couldn't afford oil for a couple months. Anyway, we just got the tank refilled, but the furnace won't start.

I understand, in this situation, it's usually because the air needs to be bled out. I opened the bleeder nut and reset the furnace. It made some noise, as though it was running, for about two minutes. Then it stopped. I heard no hissing of air and saw no oil come out.

I tried this about five times at various bleeder nut loosenesses, including having it completely unscrewed and off.

This furnace definitely worked two months ago.

The power was on and the fan was set to auto. I don't know what else it could be. We really can't afford to pay $120 for a service call about this, but we're very cold and the outside temperature is around 5 degrees Celsius these days.

I should add that I don't know if there's like... a flame anywhere. I don't see one but I don't know where it would be.

1. In which area you live and ambient temperatures you usually experience.
Western Canada, brisk winters haha.
2. House style and construction details.
Oldish, pretty simple.
3. Make, model and age of equipment related to the problem.
Seems to be Englis brand, single valve plus a welded-shut dummy second intake valve.
4. Fuel type.
Oil

Old 12-07-08, 06:03 AM
G