Heil Ultimate III start up problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-08, 10:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
Heil Ultimate III start up problem

The burner is not firing up since the gas was shut off to the furnace. When I turn the gas valves on and switch the power on, the circulation fan comes on and runs continuosly. The fan switch is set on auto. The power vent does not come on. Any help in trouble shooting would be appreciated.
Thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-08, 03:29 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
The most common things would be either you have a vent motor that is shot, or you have this one relay that converts the 24 volt signal to 120 volts, and that may be called a heat relay or sequencer. All these can be tested with a voltmeter to see what is going on. The firing sequence will not occur without that power vent going.

Do you have a voltmeter? And the ability to look at wires on parts and sort of figure out what they might do, by where they come and go to?

Furnaces can vary greatly in the area of how and where they wire up these parts. On a furnace with just a control module, the parts mentioned will be sitting off by themselves. But a furnace with a control board may have the parts on the board, and you might need another board, IF the parts are not additionally isolated from it - and the power vent motor itself shows that it is good, and can run off say direct wire to a 120 source.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-08, 07:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by ecman51` View Post
The most common things would be either you have a vent motor that is shot, or you have this one relay that converts the 24 volt signal to 120 volts, and that may be called a heat relay or sequencer. All these can be tested with a voltmeter to see what is going on. The firing sequence will not occur without that power vent going.

Do you have a voltmeter? And the ability to look at wires on parts and sort of figure out what they might do, by where they come and go to?

Furnaces can vary greatly in the area of how and where they wire up these parts. On a furnace with just a control module, the parts mentioned will be sitting off by themselves. But a furnace with a control board may have the parts on the board, and you might need another board, IF the parts are not additionally isolated from it - and the power vent motor itself shows that it is good, and can run off say direct wire to a 120 source.
Thanks for your reply.
I have a voltmeter and know how to use it. I'll have a look to see what supplies power to the power vent.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes