Heil Ultimate III start up problem


  #1  
Old 12-15-08, 10:55 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Heil Ultimate III start up problem

The burner is not firing up since the gas was shut off to the furnace. When I turn the gas valves on and switch the power on, the circulation fan comes on and runs continuosly. The fan switch is set on auto. The power vent does not come on. Any help in trouble shooting would be appreciated.
Thanks,
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-08, 03:29 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7,826
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The most common things would be either you have a vent motor that is shot, or you have this one relay that converts the 24 volt signal to 120 volts, and that may be called a heat relay or sequencer. All these can be tested with a voltmeter to see what is going on. The firing sequence will not occur without that power vent going.

Do you have a voltmeter? And the ability to look at wires on parts and sort of figure out what they might do, by where they come and go to?

Furnaces can vary greatly in the area of how and where they wire up these parts. On a furnace with just a control module, the parts mentioned will be sitting off by themselves. But a furnace with a control board may have the parts on the board, and you might need another board, IF the parts are not additionally isolated from it - and the power vent motor itself shows that it is good, and can run off say direct wire to a 120 source.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-08, 07:04 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ecman51`
The most common things would be either you have a vent motor that is shot, or you have this one relay that converts the 24 volt signal to 120 volts, and that may be called a heat relay or sequencer. All these can be tested with a voltmeter to see what is going on. The firing sequence will not occur without that power vent going.

Do you have a voltmeter? And the ability to look at wires on parts and sort of figure out what they might do, by where they come and go to?

Furnaces can vary greatly in the area of how and where they wire up these parts. On a furnace with just a control module, the parts mentioned will be sitting off by themselves. But a furnace with a control board may have the parts on the board, and you might need another board, IF the parts are not additionally isolated from it - and the power vent motor itself shows that it is good, and can run off say direct wire to a 120 source.
Thanks for your reply.
I have a voltmeter and know how to use it. I'll have a look to see what supplies power to the power vent.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: