Day & Night won't ignite

Old 12-18-08, 03:11 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Day & Night won't ignite

I have a Day & Night model 100HCU-12B, series 652 forced air furnace. We recently removed the furnace filter to be changed to begin the winter season. While the old filter was absent we ran the furnace and it seemed to fire up and work fine. After replacing the old filter with a clean one the furnace will no longer ignite. The pilot is burning but it will not fire up. Neither the blower or burners are working. I am trying to fix it myself but I am puzzled. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated and please be very basic as I am a novice at this. Thank You

Sponsored Links
Old 12-18-08, 03:45 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Is this scenario occuring NOW?: Where you leave filter out and it works, and put it back in and it quits? If you think it is, be sure to do several tests each way to rule out coincidence.

Old 12-18-08, 08:37 PM
I have tested it and it doesn't seem to have anything to do with the filter.

Old 12-19-08, 08:16 AM
So the bottom line is - you can't figure out why you can have a working pilot and yet it won't fire up?

Is this pilot lit automatically when there is a call for heat, or is this a standing pilot, as this answer can greatly matter as to know if an ignition sequence is trying to start.

If yours automatically ignites, upon a call for heat, yet does not continue the whole ignition process, depending on your furnace type, maybe you have a flame sensor for the pilot that will allow the pilot to remain lit but wil not let the burners come on unless the flame sensor can sense the pilot flame.